Day #34: Language school begins


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Siberia » Novosibirsk
May 17th 2013
Published: May 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

For the next two weeks, I will stay in Novosibirsk, and attend a language school here with the aim of improving my (pretty basic) Russian language skills. I am also staying with a Russian family so it's meant to be "immersion", although my family speaks perfect English, so it's hard to resist the temptation to speak English around them, as Russian can be an uphill struggle.

Today was my first day of lessons, and after over a month of "just" travelling, it took a bit of adjusting to: lessons from 10am-1:15pm, then a tour around the city, then a tutorial until 6pm. Although I have used my Russian over the past few weeks that I've been in the country, it's only really been for practical stuff - checking into hotels, ordering food in restaurants, and so on. Over the next couple of weeks I expect to be learning much more widely.

I had spent the last couple of days revising hard, but it was still hard to engage my brain and find the words I was looking for. The groups are much smaller than I have been used to in my lessons in London - only 3 people - so there is no getting out of speaking, a lot, plus speaking other languages is "banned" in the lanuguage school. It will be interesting to have a structure for the next couple of weeks, having gotten so used to doing what I want, when I feel like it!

Advertisement



20th May 2013

-
Good luck! Your follower

Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb