Drink beer don't ryde


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Siberia » Lake Baikal
August 11th 2012
Published: December 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

It's our last full day on this amazing island and I've really enjoyed it.

On the final day me and Ange decide to hire some bikes and ride to the other side of the island.

The aim is to ride to Khardy-Aman bay but somehow we only end up via Shar a Nur lake again.

We meet some random dogs, followed by some random drunk dudes who tell us where going the wrong way.

"Why ride bikes?" He asks leaning way too close, so I get the whiff of beer on his breath.

When we drop off the bikes I meet Michael, the guy who made jokes with us whilst hiring us the bicycles.

"Drink tea with me." He insists. I ask Ange, she begins to shake her head but Michael is already pouring us a cup.

"With milk? You can't refuse." I tell this to Ange, and she laughs, she knows he is correct.





We drink some tea and following our chats he gives me a small silver icon of the Archangel Michael.

He helps me put it on whist explaining;

"He's a very powerful guardian. I hope he helps you as much as he has helped me."

In the evening we have the chance to experience another awesome concert.

This time the performance is by a group of people, some who know each other, some who don't.

They all have one thing in common.

Jew harpists.

They are all Jew harpists.

Some are local.

Some have hitch hiked here.

My favorite guy, who plays tunes that sound like something Daft Punk performs has hitch hiked from Smolensk, 5,620 km away or 6 days by train to come and perform.

The finale has the Jew harpists free styling and some African drum players join in. It's good clean fun.



Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb