Day #48: Irkutsk


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Siberia » Irkutsk
May 28th 2013
Published: May 30th 2013
Edit Blog Post

My first task in Irkutsk was to pick up my ticket for onward travel to Mongolia from the travel agents I bought it from; unfortunately, this proved to be a much more complex task than I had anticipated, as the office was buried deep in the suburbs of Irkutsk, way off the tourist map. Russian addresses are notoriously difficult to find at the best of times because the address consists of a street, a corpus number, and an apartment number - sometimes a corpus that is listed as being on a particular street is quite a way back from the actual road, behind a number of other identical Soviet-style blocks. This was the case with this address, and after a couple of hours of searching and asking various locals who responded by saying that this particular address was very "difficult" or "complicated" to find, I gave up. The next day I just got a taxi from the hostel and was there in about 15 minutes (it was worth doing, as I was nowhere close when I was looking!).

That was pretty much the day finished, so the best I can say for today is that I got to see some of the Irkutsk suburbs, including a nice church.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 8; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0585s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb