AMAZING 2 day Lake Baikal Adventure


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Siberia » Irkutsk
January 11th 2006
Published: January 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

As mentioned, I am making this blog a 'photo blog' as I have far too many great photos to leave out in lieu of words... enjoy! Jason.

PS... the photos appear in chronological order. To see a map of where I am, please refer to previous blog.


Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Me on the way to Lake BaikalMe on the way to Lake Baikal
Me on the way to Lake Baikal

The lake isn't frozen yet and looks 'hot' compared to the -20C air temp!
Get your fish... come on and get your fish!Get your fish... come on and get your fish!
Get your fish... come on and get your fish!

Tiny fishing village of Listvyanka... famous for Lake Baikal 'omul fish'... I bought some and enjoyed the hot smoked version
Cafe Assan (the guy's name!)Cafe Assan (the guy's name!)
Cafe Assan (the guy's name!)

This guys had a BBQ set up on the lakeshore... despite the pork being a little red on the inside (tough to BBQ in -20C weather) it was tasty and I show no signs of E.Coli... yet...
My rental car...My rental car...
My rental car...

Russia is littered with broken down cars... some look 'cute' in the snow anyways...
I took a hike up the hill behind ListvyankaI took a hike up the hill behind Listvyanka
I took a hike up the hill behind Listvyanka

Wanted to check out the sunset from above...
Sunset from above the townSunset from above the town
Sunset from above the town

Look at the steam whisping across the lake... mesmerizing!
Dinner in ListvyankaDinner in Listvyanka
Dinner in Listvyanka

Beer, water, Omul (fish), Russian Dumplings... and good hearty bread
My snowmobile guide Anton and IMy snowmobile guide Anton and I
My snowmobile guide Anton and I

Anton is 23 and married without children. Most Russian get married in the 20-25 age range I've found.
Lunch is served!Lunch is served!
Lunch is served!

We stopped in the middle of nowhere and out came the soup, sandwhiches, eggs... oh and of course the benzene to 'help' start the fire!
Ready, set, go!... this is easy...Ready, set, go!... this is easy...
Ready, set, go!... this is easy...

This was taken 10 minutes prior to me throwing myself off of the machine into a snow bank... we never went more than ~30km/hr so it wasn't a big deal
I love SiberiaI love Siberia
I love Siberia

Photographic answer to why I cam here


11th January 2006

unbelievable!
Who would have thought it could be so stunning! So is it snow hut instead of beach hut for you? You're right, the pictures are absolutely stunning and unlike anything I could have imagined myself...enjoy the winter wonderland!
11th January 2006

WOW!!!!!!!!
Hello my friend! You are well I trust, as the steady stream of gorgeous photos demonstrates just that, for I know you are in your element..surrounded by that heavenly white stuff . You should become a tour guide of some sort, for your entries are fascinating to say the least. Beautiful, beautiful is all I can say. Enjoy every moment JJ. As always, I'm looking forward to hearing and seeing more. Take care Jason. T
12th January 2006

Awesome photos j. We are shivering looking at them. It is quite beautiful. The food looks like Siberia's version of Pupnat. Was it as good? We will enjoy a very mild winter wonderland this w/e in whistler. Sending lots of love
12th January 2006

Up BEFORE sunrise!
Thanks for two more amazing blogs. Super photos! Does the lake usually freeze in early Jan. or was it waiting for your arrival?! You will have to have a photo exhibition somewhere.. Have you heard of ascaris from eating under-cooked pork and other wild animals found in very cold climates? Happy travels and keep safe. Love Mum and Dad
12th January 2006

Magnifique
Tes photos sont magnifiques et represente surement bien ton trip. Nous sommes passe te voir le 11 mais la porte etait fermee. La prochaine fois au canada peut etre. Stephane et Max
13th January 2006

"Dad" Joe said I needed to see your photos
great photo shots. Joe was really excited to show me what you have been doing I think he would like to be there too! Travelling is such a great experience. I've seen his trip photos with Esther to Guatamala (warm) and now yours in Russia (cold) that lake freezing was amazing. Enjoy the rest of your trip. Cheers!
14th January 2006

pivo
diesel
19th January 2006

Burrard Street Surgery
Jason, your dad got us started with reading your blogs and now we check them regularily.Fantastic. What a wonderful adventure. Better you than us, though. A tad too chilly!

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 66; dbt: 0.061s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb