Moscow No More


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Moscow
July 30th 2008
Published: August 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Moscow Space MuseumMoscow Space MuseumMoscow Space Museum

Stolen from Andrea. Nice photo I thought.
Quite a short update this one - just pictures and my 'highlights':-

- Listening to the best busker I've heard - a blind guy playing old Russian numbers outside a Metro station. He held his guitar at a slightly odd angle, constantly readjusting his fingers to find the right position. His voice carried a quality that I find difficult to describe, and others listening clearly felt the same. I stood there for around half an hour and reckon he must have made 1000 roubles (20 quid). Not bad.

- Being told by my school that my contract was just a 'guideline'. Enjoyed that one, though not at the time.

- Seeing the dead body of Lenin. Is it real or just a waxwork? Hard to tell really. I felt uncomfortable in its presence, but then I felt the same at Madame Tussuad's.

- Discovering the joy that is Catan.

- Gaining personal experience of Russian bureaucracy. It took the Moscow government four weeks to cancel my visa. When I asked my school, 'Surely it's just a matter or stamping my passport, no more than a 5 minute job?' the response was laughter and amusement.

- The following sights:-
- listening to the bells at Kolomenskoye Park - more like a huge xylophone rather than bells, and the sound was haunting.
- a river cruise, starting at Kievskaya. Well worth it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

The hospital where I had my medicalThe hospital where I had my medical
The hospital where I had my medical

You'd be scared as well.
RollerbladingRollerblading
Rollerblading

My first time.
Crapdogs. Get your crapdogs here!Crapdogs. Get your crapdogs here!
Crapdogs. Get your crapdogs here!

Actually reads as 'Stardogs' in Russian but tickled me nonetheless.
The Hunt is OverThe Hunt is Over
The Hunt is Over

'Red October' chocolate factory.


26th August 2008

blue sky
the sky in Moscow is so blue and clear. My friend told me that in Beijing it was also like that. Ahhhh

Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0622s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb