Yeah, Yeah, so I ate Beef...


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Moscow
April 21st 2008
Published: April 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ok, before we get to the title of this blog entry let me finish up the why there was the word sponges in my last one...

There was rain all day yesterday, and I all I had were my Pumas, which don't got much protection, ok yeah say your Trojan man jokes here...

Anyways, there are huge freakin puddles in the sidewalks, let me rephrase there were lakes on the sidewalks that I had to walk through and if anyone has seen a puma shoe it got the puma jumping on the side. Well, when I walked through the lake, I saw my puma icon change from a jumping pose to a dog paddling pose as it try to stay from drowning. You get the idea, and the sponge reference was born from that. Since my feet were soaked and the shoes were left to dry in front of a fan in my room all nite just to get somewhat dry.

Ok, now that we are par for the course after my previous writing I headed to Arbat district where I found a small bakery where I had a lemon tart was quite excellent and the waitress spoke some english it was pretty empty so she sat down and we talked for a bit. Then I just walked around and got lost and then found a cafe a friend suggested (cafe de artistas) but was pretty expensive so I opted for another place my lonely planet book suggested right down the street. Which I couldn't find for the next 20 minutes until someone finally told me they were closed!!! Ugh, anyways, I found a old skool cafeteria and had a feast on boiled potatoes, stuffed carrots, and spicy tomato sauce, yeah a real winner! It was good and cheap and kept me going. I went back to the Kremlin and got a ticket to get inside there as well as inside the Armory, it was good stuff.

Oh before I forget I'm up to 5 for the Anna Kournakova body double count. Yeah, no joke 6 foot blondes are found on the metro and are associated with older sugar daddies. 😞 Maybe, if I become a oil tycoon I will have my own Anna Kournakova until then big wishes for a small feeble programmer...

I went back to the hotel to get some rest and also pickup a small flask of vodka. After a couple drinks I headed out and went back to Red Square to go to a restuarant where a chef recreates WWII dishes. Now how could you possibly not want to try pre-Cold War food!!!

So, I got there and was seated next to a table with another single women. We started started talking and she was northern Russian who was living in Norway as a piano teacher but spoke some english. It was entertaining to talk with.

Now to get to "meat" of the story. I ordered some pelmini which are meat dumplings and the Beef Stroganoff, yes to all who know me I don't eat beef but when in Rome... It was damn good!!! Different then what is served here that's for sure but really good.

I have been to Red Square twice now and both people who have taken my picture in front of St. Basil's church has not turned out, dammit... Janet...

I plan on waking up early and checking out that commie bastard Lenin's body in the morning, they have preserved his body since 1924 and might not be doing it much longer...possibly.

Speaking of tomorrow I head to St. Petersberg and next blog entry will be then. Tonight, I'm gonna finish up my vodka and hit up a bar and see what kinda trouble I will get into. Maybe, talk to people about the Cuban Missile Crisis, or converse if the Stalin moustache look will come back into style...

By the way my Russian has definitely helped out, spasiba, Irina.

the one thing about asking where things are in convincing Russian is the fact is they give you directions in russian, so i just follow there hand signals... And their cyrillic is starting to make more sense, so I figure St. Petersberg I will be rocking the casbah.

One last thing, Go Lakers!!! yeah, playoff scores are a day later here...

Miss ya'll

Mike

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb