Moscow


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Moscow
September 19th 2005
Published: September 23rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hi

So I took the train yesterday from St Petes to Moscow.. there was probably all of 3 Canadians on the train and we were all sitting together.. thats coincidence enough.. But the guy was from Gravelbourgh Sask, which is 9 miles from where my Dad's family is from.. Dad they are The Allards I think, they owned a clothing store in town and Aunt M says she knows the dress shop.. haha.. So THEN his wife has been to Russia before to check out some of the building sights in the far easter parts.. YES, believe it or not, in Anadyr and she has met my cousin Bob.. small world eh, they were a really great couple..

Today I went to Red square which I loved.. it is very impressive.. to St Basils Cathedral.. again, the outside was amazing and I loved it.. looked just like how I pictured.. I went to the Kremlin.. It was really great too with lots of churches etc.. I did, however, get yelled at by one of the military guys.. still not sure if it was cause I was walking on the grass or because I was heading off toward buildings I was not supposed to go near.. probably the latter.. at least I didn't notice that he had a gun.. haha..

Around 7 my cousin Pat called.. He was in Moscow, on his way home.. so we had a beer.. Then we went to my cousin Bob's hotel, cause Bob was in Moscow as well.. It was so much fun, our mini family reunion in Moscow.. who ever would have guessed..
Then we end up at a Bar called Doug and Marty's Boar House.. Doug and Marty are Canadians.. the bar was a blast.. we met some British guys.. drank and danced till 5:30 in the morning.. The Briish guys had invited me to go to Gorki park with them the next day, but I was less than enthusiastic about that when I finally dragged my butt out of bed..

Managed to meet Bob again for beers that night though.. I think we were both a little worse for wear.. not sure how Pat managed to get on his flight.. haha

So that was my little tour of Russia.. I loved it.. I would go back in a minute.. especially to St Petes..

Tami

Advertisement



26th September 2005

That is way too coincidental Tami . . .. very cool . . .. the world is getting way too small. by the way . . . this Travelblog thing is a very neat way to keep all of us envious people tuned into your adventure. gerry

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0985s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb