The eagle has landed


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Moscow
June 24th 2007
Published: June 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0



UntitledVirtually hallucinating as it's now 36 hours since I last slept (unless you count repeatedly passing out and hitting my head on the window of the coach to Heathrow), but I've definitely arrived in Russia. Oversize baggage at Heathrow lost my boarding card and passport control at Moscow airport was as fast moving as a glacier but despite my total lack of Russian I made it through the train and tube systems unscathed. Realised I didn't have a map to my hostel (clever) but a helpful lady in a kiosk bullied her son into showing me the way. Faith in humanity duly restored I've managed to buy some very random food for dinner and am heading to bed in my cozy dorm for ten. Much fun to be had with the resident kitten known as 'Little Cakes'.

Will try to add photos when I'm more conscious. Considering the route map I tried to create ended up showing Norway, I'm not hopeful!

The advance on Red Square begins tomorrow.

Jude xx :-)

Advertisement



25th June 2007

why 'the other Jude'?? : )
Surely there can be only one?! Glad to know you're safely there - how very exciting, mon brave! Looking forward to reading more of your Russian adventures - and remember, if in doubt, just say nyet! Or da. Whichever you fancy.... This is Kirsten, btw - greendragon is my internet alias... ; )
25th June 2007

one other thing...
I have to add that I'm most amused that, because of advertising, your blog opens with the headline 'Real Estate in Panama'. "Oh, is that what Jude's doing for a living now...?!" : D
25th June 2007

Brilliant to hear from u so quick. Why am i not surprised your bag was oversized? This blog thing is really great, keep posting. R
25th June 2007

baggage
Cheek of it, my bag wasn't oversized it was just funny shaped. It was less than an third of what I could have taken. Now that's scary! Bit of a rubbish day wandering round the arse end of Moscow trying to find the offices of my ticket agent. Found eventually, phew. Will do the cultural bit tomorrow I think.

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb