Let's start from here!


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Moscow
January 28th 2007
Published: January 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This is my first entry in my new TravelBlog. Hope in the next few years I'll have a lot to tell about my travelling.

Though I'm not a very regular traveller, when I get the chance to travel I never lose it!!! And currently I'm planning to to go to London for quite a while and to travel around the UK.

But let's get back to the present time. I guess, quite many people have visited Moscow, and for everyone it is different. The best thing about Moscow is that everyone can find something attractive here - ancient churches and museums with famous paintings, amazing parks and landscapes, the poor and the rich, busy nightlife and busy City... Contrasts are everywhere. That is the most amazing thing about it. Most of my friends who come here for the first time are amazed with the city, but when they discover traffic problems (like extreeeeeeemely busy underground and traffic jams), the cost of living and the actual distances, see rows of Mercedes and BMW in the centre and lots of beggers, they become upset.

And here goes the problem - the contrast between a certain place as a tourist attraction and same place as your home city. A place can be perfect for visiting (like Venezia, St. Petersburg, London and Moscow - examples that pop up in my head when I think of "inconvinient" cities), but is absolutely a disaster if you want to live there.

But despite that, I prefer to live in a busy and full of life city rather than a calm village. Though Moscow has lot's of disadvantages, the opportunities it gives, and culture levels keep me kind of "attached" to it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb