One day left


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Moscow
December 7th 2006
Published: December 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I have one more day left in Moscow....
It is so strange to think I will be in America in just two days. America seems like a dream to me now. A very good dream. But I don't know how I will fit in when I come back. I'm different than I used to be.
I'll be freaked out when strangers smile at me on the streets. I'll put on pajamas before anything else whenever I return home. And I'll make borsch. And blini too. And cut up tomatoes and cucumbers, salt them, and garnish them with parsely. And I'll walk tons just for the heck of it.
And probably a whole lot more that I don't even realize right now.
I'm nervous, sad, and excited all at the same time.
I've been trying to keep myself busy so I won't think about leaving too much.
Yesterday Renne and I went to the former Soviet propaganda project at VNDH. It consists of a bunch of ornate buildings that are each supposed to represent a different part of Russia, a space museum, and a communist success museum. Only the space museum still functions as a museum anymore. The others have been turned into run down malls and conference centers. We went into one of the conference centers that was apparently having an exhibition on work uniforms. A bunch of men and women showed off fire fighter uniforms in a fashion show. They posed and danced while "We will rock you" and other American music played.
Then I went to a movie with Tanya, Tanya's boyfried, and some people from my program. We saw Flash Kar, a Russian action film. After that we went to Chocoladnitza and talked for a while. Tanya's boyfriend speaks really good English and has traveled all over the world. He learned English from an teacher from England so he speaks English with a mixture of English and Russian accent.
Today I spent a lot of time packing. Then Phebe invited me to go to a Russian friend's house with her and have tea. About five other Russians and two other Americans came too. We had a great time. The Russians took out a guitar and sang a famous Russian folk song about a quiet night in Moscow. One of them said that if I ever want to go to Poland I can stay with a friend of her's in Warsaw. I might just take her up on the offer.
Tonight a group of us went to Kristin's appartment. We watched Mulan (in English!!!) and talked about how strange it will be when we come back. It was sad saying goodbye to Kristin. She is taking a different flight and going to spend some time traveling around Europe before returning to America.
I have only one more day. I'm going to spend it packing and visiting my favorite places in Moscow one last time. And around six I'm meeting up with Oksana to walk around the Red Square for the last time and say goodbye.
It doesn't seem real that I'm really leaving Moscow....


Advertisement



7th December 2006

I can't believe the time has really come for you to return home......a day I have been waiting for for a very long time! All of us are busy (especially me) preparing for your homecoming: cleaning, cooking your favorite things, planning, etc. How wonderful to have your last days so filled with good friends and more interesting adventures. I believe Devotchka v Moskve has beautifully transformed into Young Woman v Moskve! See you upon your arrival!!!!
8th December 2006

home soon!
Hi Genna, You sound so emotionally conflicted about your return-sad to say goodbyes but anxious for the hellos. You have made so many new friends and have experienced so much that most of us have not. So, a new chapter of your life will begin and I hope it will bring you as much joy as your Moscow chapter. We look forward to seeing you on Sunday and hearing more of your wonderful adventures. Love, Aunt Sue
8th December 2006

There is something about leaving that always leaves feelings of good and sad. Both are ok to feel. The people you have met and made friends with will always remember you as you of them. Cherish those moments, they will make you a stronger and wiser person. See you Sunday and Safe Trip.

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb