Russia


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Centre
July 20th 2018
Published: July 20th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


So, I've been wanting to take a solo trip for a while now. It's easy to get people to go to Europe with you. Even Iceland. Costa Rica? Heck yeah. Machu Picchu? Sign them up, even my kids. Who wants to go to Russia?? (((((crickets)))) So, there you have it. The logical choice for my first solo trip.

Plane tickets aren't so expensive if you are willing to travel in economy. Airbnbs are cheap. I think I'm spending around $300 for 6 nights in Moscow and St. Petersburg. I used hotel points for a free night in Finland for my layover home. Bonus country! Get to spend the evening and the next morning exploring Helsinki.

The rub? Finding out that U.S. Citizens need a Visa to enter Russia. Embassy fees run about $150. However, dealing with the Russian Consulate and the paperwork required is a daunting task. Private companies can provide assist and guidance in the process and simplify the application process. For a fee, of course. Because I had already booked my flights and lodging, I decided not to rely on my own non-existent skills to manage this confusing process myself. The company I decided to go with charges about $350 for the process. They handle the application and have experts who have dealt with the Russian Consulate before. I decided to go ahead and rely on their services to not only expedite the process, but to take a big stress off of me. And hey, I did save a good bit on lodging, so there you go.

To apply, you must fill out a detailed application form including your specific travel dates and arrangements. So, you really have to book things ahead of time to even be able to apply for the Visa in the first place. They want to know about your education, job, training, civic affiliations, military service, parents, and blood type. JK on the blood type. Luckily, there was no line on the form for whom you may have voted in the recent election. You also have to trust the process and send in your passport, a copy of your passport, and two horrendous passport photos taken this morning at Walgreens. Maybe that last part was just me. Also included, a copy of my itinerary. That is all sealed up in a Fed Ex Express envelope with a kiss and a prayer that this whole thing hasn't been a waste of time.

Now, the wait.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.273s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb