All's well that ends well.


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Centre » Tver
May 11th 2006
Published: May 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I needed another lie-in today. I went to Zhanna's class after lunch still yawning but there were only two of us there so I could just sit in the corner with two bottles of fruit yoghurt and write a few more paragraphs of my essay - the Russian black market in the late 1980s.

At the end of the lesson Zhanna said to me: "Jon it's our last lesson, we won't see each other again - can I ask you a question?" "Of course" I replied.

"You don't like studying, do you?"

I said no. I used to, sort of, but I'm bored of it. My head has been full of other things for a couple of years and whenever I sit down to work it is almost impossible to concentrate. It's something I will try to correct when I'm back in England but for now I just wanted to do as much as I could in Russia. We came to the conclusion that I'm a complicated person. She called me a 'progulschik', more warmly than they called me it in Yaroslavl, and said she hoped I had made the most of my time here. We wished each other all the best but in fact we will definitely see each other before I leave on tuesday. She hasn't been the best teacher but I didn't want to remember her badly, and now I won't.

I watched MTV Rossiya with the Finnish girls in the evening, then the first half of Vozvraschenie with them yet again. Restlessness took over, and I went for a walk around town later.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb