The wall.


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Centre » Tver
March 16th 2006
Published: March 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

...

A Church on the banks of the Volga.
Three hours of Zhanna today, so at 2 o'clock when lesssons finished my mood was awful. I sit like a statue in her classes, not saying much. The very best thing about being in Russia is feeling so tiny next to the greatness of the country, but feeling small in a classroom is a different matter.

I went for a walk with Yenu, Christa, Anna-Maria, Haidie, Tuuli and Maya after classes to clear my head. The temperature on the street is quite a few degrees above zero so I was sweating in my winter coat. The Volga has started to thaw; cracks are appearing in the centre of the ice, and only the bravest still walk over it instead of the bridge. The small open air ice-rink by the river isn't as smooth and only a few couples still skate on it. The stream that never froze over has become wider, and families of ducks have arrived to paddle around in the dark blue water.

My mood was still bad in the evening. Maybe it is the weather's fault as many Russians say - people become depressed at the start of spring as well as ill. I'm fed up of most things around me; waking up feeling sore in the morning, cold showers that make my eyes sting, lessons that I'm not getting anything from, and hearing more Finnish language than Russian.

I miss the adventure of doing something memorable every day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0904s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb