The old enemy.


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Centre » Tver
March 10th 2006
Published: March 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sunset over Kinoteatr 'Zvezda'.Sunset over Kinoteatr 'Zvezda'.Sunset over Kinoteatr 'Zvezda'.

Through the bridge over the Volga.
The lecture this morning that I had cut short my trip to Moscow for was cancelled, to be replaced by an exursion to a kettle museum.

To make things worse I woke up with a headache and a fever, feeling just as I had when I was ill in Yaroslavl in the autumn. I forgot to put my hat on for part of yesterday morning, and because I wasn't wearing a belt the freezing air reached my back too - Russian weather only needs to catch you out for an hour to make you pay for it.

With a sore head and aching kidneys I trudged over the bridge with the other students. Spring is supposed to have arrived but the temperature is minus 9, and apparently it was minus 24 overnight. The museum was a better day out than I expected; the building was small and the lady who showed us round didn't speak too much. The museum is a converted cottage, with three rooms each displaying samovars from different centuries. Again the blue plastic socks were compulsory for the trip downstairs.

A samovar is a traditional Russian kettle made of metal; throughout the centuries it has heated water for millions of people as well as being a craft and a status symbol. At the end we sat around a long table and drank cups of tea with biscuits. The lady taught us Russian table manners - elbows off the table, straight posture at all times, and no noise is allowed when stirring your sugar with a spoon. When you do not want any more refills you must turn your cup upside down and place it on your saucer.

Throughout the day I felt worse and worse. I felt painfully hot at times, and two minutes later started to shake from cold.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1203s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb