Rainy and Cold in Obninsk


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Centre » Obninsk
September 9th 2007
Published: September 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Not much to report, but it has been a little while since I posted anything on the blog so I thought since it was rainy and cold outside, I would stay home this Sunday and say hello to everyone. It is Fall here and getting close to Winter; we are only getting into the 40's for the past few days and upper 30's at night. Next week it is suppose to warm up a little like 50's and 40's so that is not bad.

I am still fighting a cold. I think I am on week 2 and I was going to see the doctor on Friday, but finally started to feel better so I figured if I got plenty of sleep this weekend, I will hopefully be over it. I do feel a lot better and I did get plenty of sleep but we have been lacking hot water the past few days. I think they are working on our building because it is only my building that does not have hot water. We do have luke warm water but not hot so I so glad I bought that instant hot water heater. With the luke warm water, I have been able to get hot water for a shower. It is not as good a regular one but at least the water is hot so it well worth the 800 rubles I spent on it. I have used it now for over three days and once or twice earlier last week so well worth 800 rubles for some hot water.

No wonder people are sick with no hot water to wash dishes, hands, etc. As I was telling someone, for a nation that considers itself industrialized, it has a long way to go in a lot of areas!

I am not sure what I will be doing next year. I did discuss the idea of me not staying past January with my boss last week while we were in Moscow on business. He was not surprised, but wanted to further discuss it this week so I will be sitting down with him to finalize what are my plans for next year. Michael has asked me to stay one more year, I think more for personal reasons as he is staying one more year to get Dasha's visa approved. I know Alan has also decided to stay on one more year, but will be spending more time back in the States. I just have such mixed feelings about it. I enjoy Russia, but I just do not feel like I am getting much accomplished and want to do more. So I will keep you posted.

Not much else new, but wanted to say hello to everyone. Again, thanks for all of the support!

Vince

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0543s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb