Honorary Member


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Centre » Obninsk
June 28th 2007
Published: August 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Obninsk Volleyball ClubObninsk Volleyball ClubObninsk Volleyball Club

A great group of guys/friends.
I realize this is a little late posting, but coming home to surprise Mom, I could not post this to the public so here it is. I had a good trip back to the States and Mom was surprised by my visit. I will post more from the Donkey Show and my side trips getting here later after I get to my home in Atlanta.


It made me feel so good today. The volleyball team wanted me to stop by today even though I was not going to play as it was my last day before leaving. When I arrived, they all stopped praticing and came over. They presented me with a diploma as follows:

"We are veterans of Obninsk volleyball section training at Sport and Recreation Center State Research Center of Russia FSUV ORPE "Technologia" would like to give this Diploma to Mr. Vincent R. Kramer and confirm the following:

1. Within a year (06.2006-06.2007) twice per week Vincient trains constantly as a part of our section and show very good results.
2. With a year once per week after his volleyball training Vincient goes constantly into sauna and manfully tries to adapt for Russian steam room.
3. During collective training Vincent do become our friend because is a good man.
4. As a sign of our strong friendship, we would like to hand to Vincent the souvenir simbolizing Obninsk - the town of the first in the world Atomic Power Station. It is a bit of graphite rod from this Atomic Power Station.

Vincent, we wish you a good rest, to have a good trip to native land and, please, sen our regards to your relatives and friends! We will miss you, Vincent, please return as soon as possible! We will be waiting for you, old chap!"

And they all signed it. Besides the graphite rod, they also gave me an Obninsk volleyball coffee mug and a very nice volleyball shirt that says Obninsk on it. Besides the team, Freddie and his brother gave me a Russian flag and a "piggy bank" of Putin dressed in his judo outift. If you did not know, Putin is a black belt in judo. So I thought it was very very nice of them and it makes me proud to be a part of the team.

Before I left on Monday, I gave everyone a sauna hat that my Mom helped me make. It had a Russian and US flag crossing on it. It really did not work out the way I wanted when I presented and although everyone was very thankful, no one wanted to wear them. They all wanted to take them home with them. It was neat and I am glad I joined the team.

Advertisement



10th July 2007

surprise! ! !
It was a big surprise you coming to the donkey show. Big help and a lot of good pictures for memories. Thanks for coming.
12th July 2007

Very cool
Hey Vince - Very cool posting! Thanks for sharing and they do very symbolic stuff. Tell them your friends in US wish them well and think they are cool! That's good, in case they don't know that cool is good : )
14th July 2007

It's so wonderful that you've been able to make such great friends there! Hope your trip home was wonderful and can't wait to see pictures. Take care of yourself, Gale

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0638s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb