Record Highs!


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Centre » Obninsk
May 30th 2007
Published: May 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I have not heard for sure, but I think today we will have set the third day in a row for record highs here in the Moscow area. It has been around 93-95oF, but thankful, it is still cooling off at night so the sleeping is not too bad. The funny part, some people tell me this will be it for summer here and if next week's weather is any prediction, they may be right. They are calling for temperatures in the upper 70's next week for our highs.

For those of you working in and around meat and chicken plants, you do not want to even know how hot it was on the production floor today. I will let you do the math, but it was 28oC, which YES, is way too hot!!!! The best thing I heard was in the Moscow Times (English newspaper here in Moscow) reported, "...a top doctor warned city residents not to work too hard, due to the heat." My thought was, someone actually has to work around here for them not to work too hard! We have birds coming out of the chiller warm and I am arguing with people to slow down the line but meet resistence because the employees do not want to work overtime.

Today was only slightly better than yesterday for the type of day I had. I am really looking forward to my visit back home. I really need a short break. I really did not have a lot to report today, but wanted to record the record highs so I would not forget a year from now no matter where I am at. I hope you are all staying cool where you are located.

Thursday night a huge storm came through. Honestly, it made a lot of noise, but not much too it; however, it is now in the upper 40's!!! I think we will stay cooler now for at least a week according to the forecast.

Also, at volleyball last night they "voted" to see if they wanted me to stay on past June since I renewed my contract. I asked if it would be okay since initially I only thought I would be here until July. I think the "vote" was pre-planned stage, but it made me feel good so they said they would enjoy me staying on with them until January. Mom, I guess we did not need to make up the sauna hats so quickly, but I did not know so glad we have them done.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.443s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1273s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb