Circles of Life and Death in a Small Village


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Transilvania » Harghita » Homorod Valley
June 21st 2008
Published: June 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Part five of my Transylvania series.

There is something about getting to know a place. The more often you visit, the more you learn of its web of life and death. I have been to the the village of Szentpeter four times now in 8 years. Over those eight years I have seen many small changes in the village. During this visit I became more acutely aware of the circles of life and death in a small village.

In 2005 I interviewed a young man named Arpod, he was 31 then, and he still lived with his mother. During our interview I asked him about his dreams for the future. He talked about getting married...about raising children....and he had a sparkle in his eyes when he shared.

This time when I visited, he had a wife and a three week old baby boy. I remembered his wife from one of my first visits to the village. She was part of the youth group who put on the Grape Festival dance for us. It was hard to believe she was married and had just had her first child. They were both so happy this time. The sparkle of life was in both of their eyes.

I also interviewed Ferenc during my visit in 2005. Ferenc was a 61 year old bachelor farmer. I was amazed by his deep thinking about the world and it's problems. His dreams for the future were clouded by many of his best years having been spent in the collective system. His dreams, his wishes were for others....that his people have peace and prosperity and that there would be more jobs to keep the young in the village.

I always expected to see Ferenc again. I looked forward to talking with him. I found out, only upon my arrival, that Ferenc had committed suicide just weeks before. No one knows why. He was depressed because of failing health but just hours before he was playing with the village children. He seemed full of joy in their midst.

And so it goes in a small village. There is birth. There is death. Living in a large city these things can go unnoticed. Living in a place where everyone knows everyone else....the circle of life is not hidden. It is evident in all its raw unvarnished beauty for all to see.

I share his picture here and dedicate this post to Ferenc. I do not know why he felt he needed to end his life. I took a walk to his graveside while I was in the village. I talked to him and told him I was angry he didn't stick around to see me again. Then I forgave him. I wanted my memory of him to be of happier times. I wanted him to be at peace.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.21s; Tpl: 0.042s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0854s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb