Tripping to Transylvania


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Transilvania » Harghita » Homorod Valley
June 20th 2008
Published: June 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Photo 1Photo 1Photo 1

The pilgirm-traveler in the Homorod Valley.
I am back and just settling into life again at home. My visit to the Homorod Valley and Switzerland/Italy was exceptional and I have a story or two to tell for sure. But first I must do a bit of catching up around home. Sigh....just because we go away on vacation and forget all our work and worries doesn't mean they aren't there when we get back.

Just a few tidbits though, to bring you back to my blog in the coming days....

> ....once again I participated in a bit of wood fired bread baking in the village....but this time it probably won't show up on U-Tube.

> ....I touched base with a lot of old friends including an 89 year old wood carver who has already carved his own Kopjafa....Hungarian grave marker.

> ....Village bowling...... There are always surprises.

> ....helped re-do an old tile roof...and I mean really old.

> ....the village celebrated the three day Pentecost holiday while we were there. The pilgrimtraveler was asked to do a sermon on the second day. A first for me and perhaps a first for this site...I think I might post a bit of
Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

Homorod Szentpeter in the Big Homorod River valley.
it here. Will we never be surprised what we might find here in the blogs....??

> ....the majority of my stay with our Swiss friend was spent in Italy...in an old house nestled above Lake Maggiore. Life is good.

> ....and good food and lots of drink was one of the central themes again on this European visit. I think I could get hooked on life abroad.

> ....what would you think if you saw a witch's broom posted high above a German farmhouse? You might be pleasantly surprised.

Well, thats all for now my friends. I look forward to sharing more in the coming days and weeks.....and, I look forward to reading other blogs here.

Being away was good but being back is better....there is something nice in being back in one's own bed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Photo 3Photo 3
Photo 3

Wild poppy.
Photo 4Photo 4
Photo 4

The Homorod valley.
Photo 5Photo 5
Photo 5

Our "home" in the village.
Photo 6Photo 6
Photo 6

New tile roof.
Photo 7Photo 7
Photo 7

The lamb not roasted.
Photo 8Photo 8
Photo 8

The lamb roasted.


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb