G R E Y


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Muntenia » Dambovita » Gaesti
December 30th 2006
Published: December 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Got back to Europe and back to Romania, the first thing that hit me, leaving apart Austrian's rudeness and their total, absolute lack of communication, was the cold weather. Romania is pretty much the same as I know it , not much has changed, got back to a sad-looking, depressing grey image , so familiar and somehow so remote!

I miss people smiling to me on the street, talking to me out of the blue sky and just being genuinely happy and cheerful. Yes, weather does influence our state of mind! I hate this grey, bleak winter, it is so demoralizing, I don't feel the joy I felt only 10 days ago, travelling to Villa de Leyva and admiring the landscape. There is no landscape here, we are surrounded by greyness. Everything around me is grey!😞(( Ok, I guess my mood is not the very best while writing this entry...what can I say? I miss Colombia, I miss the weather, the people, Medellin, God do I miss Medellin!!!

This entry is about my country...fortunately I will be here only for 2-3 weeks...I could't stand being here more than that, I would go nuts! and I am already nuts, so imagine...yeah, don't laugh, I am not writing this for your entertainment, I am depressed, I am experiencing the returning home cultural shock and I even expected it ! Where is my famous optimism? the one I always brag about...my Spanish teacher in Eafit, Miguel told me once that my optimism is within myself, I told him that my optimism was born in Colombia, in Medellin, and he tried to convince me it had been within myself all my life,that I only discovered it in Colombia! Yeah, right! Discover this! I feel miserable here! I need sun, I need smily faces and friendly people around me! I need Caro and our wild, crazy nights out together!

I went to Temple, a nice club in Pitesti with some friends of mine and it just wasn't the same, though I was looking forward to seeing them again and I had a good time! Seeing my university mates again was awesome, seeing my family and my sis was fantastic!! My welcome was absolutely perfect, except for the weather. Everything is grey. The skies, the buildings, the hills, the atmosphere.They are all GREY!

Just to cheer up this entry, I will post some colourful pics. Enjoy!


New Year is knocking at the door, I want to wish all of you a great 2007!Wherever life might take you, live life to the fullest,enjoy the places you go and the people you meet, work hard and party harder !!

We will always have Colombia!!! HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



31st December 2006

Miss you tooooooo
Hey girl. I miss you too. I've being going out a lot, but as you said, partying is not the same without you. Try not to be depressed, and enjoy the cold weather because as ridiculous as it might sound, I miss European winter.
4th January 2007

Don't worry
I exrience the same post-colombia depression every time i leave the country, and i promise to myself not going back again so i don't feel like you are right now. But i cannot avoid going back... Amzing people not always fun but most of the time REAL and easy going. Once you get into a dayly routine you'll feel better. then you're gonna look at those pics without that melancholic feeling. You'll be back then leave again and feel it all over again... you'll see. Planning to move there in two years after i'm done here (Finland) with some stuff and save money to survive for a few months with no worries.

Tot: 0.313s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 75; dbt: 0.1012s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb