Pictures from Dec. 30


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Muntenia » Bucharest
January 23rd 2009
Published: January 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

IntermissionIntermissionIntermission

This pictures was of the concerthall, which is done in a classic red. You can get an idea of the fresco that surrounds the room and displays moments in Romanian history. That end bit, in particular, is the unification of Romania under Carol I.
I know it is so post-holiday, but the last pictures I took in Bucharest coincide with my last entry (Dec. 26), so here is a flashback of 2008:

Before Christmas, I attended a holiday concert at the Atenul Roman (or Romanian Athenium). For those foxy followers of my blog, I have already photographed the Atenu from the outside, so this set of pictures are from inside the concerthall. The Atenu was officially opened in 1888 (yes, I have a pictures of it) and is a very classy building designed by a Frenchman, Albert Galleron, at the turn of the century. Another claim to the "Paris of the East" title. There was a campaign to raise money for finshing the building, which asked every person to donate one leu, or the equivilent of a penny, to finish the construction of Bucharest's first concerthall. It doesn't sound too slick nowadays, but it obviously worked.

The second part of the pictures are from Parcul Carol I/ Carol I Park. Carol I, of course, was a Hohenzoller from Germany who was elected the first King of Romania. Although strange to think we elected a royal family, they were the head of goverment until
The domeThe domeThe dome

A detail of the ceiling, which is highly ornate and lit up in a soft light.
the Soviet backed coup d'etat in 1947. As we all know, it all went downhilll afterward, until (maybe) the present day. The park had a different name during the Communist days, although I do not recall its name, I'm sure it was something like Patriot Park or the People's Park or the Peasant's park or Revolutionary Park. I promise someday I will clarify the old name.

This will be the last entry for a while. Thank you very much for reading the blog and looking at my pictures. I hope you found it interesting. So, until I write again...la revedere!


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Detail, DomeDetail, Dome
Detail, Dome

This is the very center of the ceiling. Sorry about those two weird dots. Not sure why they showed up.
Al Fresco, detailAl Fresco, detail
Al Fresco, detail

A detail of the fresco describing the Romans coming to conquer what was then, Dacia.
18881888
1888

See, I totally do not need Wikipedia to check my facts. This engraving immortalizes the beginning of the Atenu.
Top of Stage, detailTop of Stage, detail
Top of Stage, detail

The intertwined A an R stand for Atenul Roman. There are two carved women, one on each side of the stage.
LightsLights
Lights

Between the two lights is a motto across the lyre, or I think it is a lyre: Poezia Antica or Ancient Poetry.
O Brad FrumosO Brad Frumos
O Brad Frumos

One thing I will say is that poor Christmas tree did not get the decorations it deserved. What can I say, hard times?
Carol I parkCarol I park
Carol I park

There is sure nothing like walking around a park at the height of winter. It was a cold and gray day, which I sort of like when taking pictures because it adds a mood. Too bad for Bucharest, the mood is often gloomy. I swear, it is not like that all the time!
Bare treesBare trees
Bare trees

Behind the trees, you can see the sombering traces of nightfall across the sky.
The pathThe path
The path

There is something about the emptiness of the park and all those unused benches lined up that reminds me of a Polish short film I once saw, but in a much creepier, there-is-a-chainsaw-murderer-behind-you way.
NightfallNightfall
Nightfall

This was such a beautiful moment. And oh, the cold!
BoatingBoating
Boating

On the other side of the sky, was this picture. In the summer, you can row boats across the lake.
The LakeThe Lake
The Lake

A view of the water and the tree line.
Ducks 2Ducks 2
Ducks 2

Where there is water, there will be ducks. Even in late December.
The cast;leThe cast;le
The cast;le

There is a strange building flying the Romanian flag. It seems a little bit out of a fairytale looking at it through the bare trees. I am not sure if there was an enchanted prince inside.
Cloud Cloud
Cloud

This was on the other side of the sky before night fell.
Tree lineTree line
Tree line

There is something about the berry colors of the trees, the yellow of the willow and the strange twists of wire coming out of the pole on the left hand corner that I like.
Another...Another...
Another...

Another phallic symbol-monument that the world is full of. It used to be a war memorial that changed into a Communist memorial until it switched back into a war memorial. But really, what do you think its commemorating?
Night in the cityNight in the city
Night in the city

Finally night falls on the city.
Old house/New blockOld house/New block
Old house/New block

This is an example of how Bucharest's architecture was obliterated by Ceausescu: Where there was once a street with many houses, Ceausescu built hulking, cement block towers that now define the Bucharest skyline. Although this is not a particularly nice house, it stands as a monument to what was once there.


Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0299s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb