Happiness Springs in Strange Places


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Muntenia » Bucharest
December 1st 2008
Published: December 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Bucharest, or Bucuresti in Romanian, is a strange city. It also happens to be my hometown, though sometimes its hard to come to terms with it. Despite the gray buildings, dirt, and vaguely hostile inhabitants, the root word of Bucuresti is "Bucur" as in the verb "A Bucura" or "To be Happy". Thus, where it may apply literally or not, the word Bucuresti conveys happiness, even joy. So, I am heading on a local journey through the city to show you the good, the bad and the ugly. Though, to be honest, the ugly is probably the easiest thing to find. I am not taking the easy way out, though; I will do my best to find the beautiful, the unusual and the interesting and take you along with me via my camera. And no, its not a cheesy one-use camera, for those wondering. So, here we go...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb