viva italia!!


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Lisbon & Tagus Valley » Lisbon
July 10th 2006
Published: July 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

First of all I would like to point out that Renee has set the standard for comments on this blog and I expect all of you to follow suit. I miss you back, nizzle!!


Okay, I sorta let the blog fall by the wayside for a bit there. To catch up, I will employ the FAQ gimmick (almost as well loved as the top five gimmick, yes?)

FAQ

Q. Where are you?
A. Lisbon, Portugal. I have to say that this place is hands down the best yet. It is so warm (in every sense of the word) and lovely and quiet and loud at all the right times and so ridiculously wonderfulbeautifulawesome that I can't even be sarcastic about it. A place so wonderfulbeautifulawesome that I, Kelly, am at a loss for sarcastic commentary. Just take a second to think about that.

Q. You stayed an extra couple of days in Amsterdam didn't you.
A. (giggle giggle)

Q. You didn't happen to try and travel via train during that railworkers strike and get stuck for an extra 30 hours or so waiting in stations and trains and dealing with the most disorganized rambleshitrunaround inefficient bullshit crappy crappy damn couple of days did you?
A. Yes, yes in fact we DID try to travel during that strike.

Q. Did you watch the world cup outside in a crowded street where televisions had been pulled from their bars and subsequently find yourself toasting all of Lisbon in endless languages receiving beers on tabs you knew not participating until nearly dawn in a celebration that made the red sox world series victory party look like three ladies named helen enjoying a celebratory tea after a satisfying but not unusual bridge victory?
A. I think I will have the victory song in my head for years to come. Ciampioni del mondo!



Realizations\observations\non-sequitors:

1. The only thing seamless about this vacation is my tan.

Um, yeah, we feel that all beaches should be free from those constrictive spandex devils, btw. Sure, it was weird at first. I mean getting naked with your sister is one thing, when you're drunk. But on a crowded beach in broad daylight. Regardless, once those babies were liberated there was no going back. Is this awkward?

2. "Kelly nothing bothers me about you except your presence."

We have had but one fight, actually. It resulted in a little crying and then, since we were trapped on a train that may or may not have been headed in the right direction, a visit to the bar car saw the bartender taking pity upon we sad little waifs, giving us free port, and all was fine.

3. We are not hobo material.

We sorta overspent a bit in the first few weeks and decided a great way to save money would be to stop staying in hotels. After four homeless days, being kicked awake by security guards, realizing that the rain in spain falls mainly wherever you are trying to sleep, a very cold beach, very hard marble bus station floor, and one seriously creepy Barcelona rent-a-cop we checked into Hotel Globo and developed a new appreciation for showering and sleeping on a bed.



Miss you all. More drunk comments, please.

Advertisement



10th July 2006

Okay, fine, Renee may be a frequent commenter, but did you compliment you (kelly) on your great rack? Je ne pense pas!
10th July 2006

OK, confusion
Did Italy not win the world cup? Why is Portugal celebrating. Are you now in Lisbon but were recently in Italia? What is going on. Have you checked your blood alcohol level lately? Why did you make Sara cry, Kelly? Why didn't we know a little port would make Sara stop crying years ago. think of all the tears we could have prevented. I love you. I will see you the night of the 12th. Be careful for crissakes
10th July 2006

No drink yet
I very much enjoyed your blog, but was glad Stan was here to enlighten me regarding some of your new age words. I was pleased to hear that you are enjoying your summer vacation. As I read your blog I was consumed with envy, but want you to enjoy your sojourn as much as possible. Love, Gram.
11th July 2006

Portugal
I am part Portuguese. Just thought I'd share that.
11th July 2006

Hostel, please!
There must be some hostels around there to rest your weary head!?! Say, my Swiss friend, Sonja, said she would try to contact you via email. Pls don't get arrested...
11th July 2006

for confused dad
No, we weren't in Italy. But France had beaten Portugal two games ago (I think), thus giving Portugal a great reason to pull for Italy. Plus, there is a large Italian population here. It was MADNESS.
12th July 2006

JEALOUS
You sound like you're having so much fun!! Be safe...but Keli...you're still dead to me....I KNOW WHAT YOU DID....sending that infamous picture of me to our corporate offices...you're on permanent time-out young lady!!!!
15th July 2006

damnit! i have no sense of geography at all
but perhaps time is on my side. it's been a while since you've written from Lisbon, no? perhaps you're near, say, Nice, and the south of France? turns out a town called Agay is more than just my favorite resort Ever, hahahahha.... it's only funny till the crying stops it's also the place that my buddy Goss is gonna be for the next about a week. Agay France. so if you all happen to be in that area and are lookin for a free room and board, his folks might be happy to put you up (don't let him front you, it's completely his parents affair. for that matter, dont believe a damn word he says, but enjoy every one of em. he says he meant to ask Sara to swing dance back at the Harvard thing, but that probably just meant he wanted to ride a swing set over sara's spawn in satan's dungeon. does that make any sense? hopefully as much as your trip does. hope bards in bikinis is rockin hard!!! i love you Kellster
19th July 2006

awaiting update
Sara - write again or i will cry. at least, i wish you would send word. wherez youx? love, trident greencard
19th July 2006

Ha ha Jean - was that the "jailbait" picture of you in the shower cap at the soup kitchen on Christmas Day?

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0657s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb