Exploring in Lisbon. Waiting for my flight.


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Lisbon & Tagus Valley » Lisbon
October 15th 2011
Published: October 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I must look Portuguese. As I travel around Brazil and Lisbon Portugal, I often have people come and ask me questions as if I have any idea what they are saying to me. Just now, an old woman carried on a one sided conversation with me as I waited for the bus. She was going on and on about the people in the square, politics, and Brazil life versus in Portugal. At the end of it her friend came up and she wished me a good day "Bom Dia". She never knew I didn't understand but a few words of her entire 10 minute diatribe. I was glad to do it though. For one it was interesting to hear her talk. Second I wanted to see just how long I could carry on the charade. And third, I think sometimes people, especially old people, just need or want someone to listen to them. I'm glad I could do that for her.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0577s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb