Subway Surfing in Lisboa (Day 20)


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Lisbon & Tagus Valley » Lisbon
May 30th 2010
Published: May 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Got off to a pretty slow start today for a couple reasons. For one we were up pretty late last night and two, I had to do laundry. So I dropped off a load downstairs and paid the hefty 7 euro fee. Not really sure how that is justified but there is no way I am wasting my time washing, drying and folding that stuff when I am on vacation. Spent the couple hours I had to kill waiting for the load to be done looking into future travel plans and sending out some couch surfing vibes to people along my route. Right now it looks like I will skip the south of Portugal (the Algarve) and just head to Andalucia with a possible stop in Madrid thrown in. For some reason the beaches of the south don't really tempt me that much but any excuse to stay in this wonderful country is attractive.

Tried to make Mom happy today by going to check out a synagogue that was listed on my tourist map and wasn't too far away but when I got to the square where it was supposed to be I found nothing. I ended up googling it later and it really wasn't too impressive. On a better note I went to the square yesterday where they used to burn the Jews alive during the Inquisition. Glad that's not still going on. After the whole synagogue debacle I took the subway out to this park area along the bay that seemed pretty popular for Portugese on a lazy Sunday. My goal was not to lounge around and play soccer in the park but to visit the Oceanario de Lisboa (aquarium). I'm a sucker for this stuff. The design and location of the place (built into the water) was really cool but the aquarium was a minor letdown, especially after going to the Baltimore one a bunch as a kid. Still it wasn't a bad way to spend a couple hours. From there I went over to this mall to grab a quick late lunch. This place looked straight out of suburban America. I went to the food court and the first things I see are McDonalds, KFC, Pizza Hut and the BK Lounge. Got a little emotional there haha. Anyways, I decided to take the tip of our tour guide from yesterday and go to the Alfama district in between the castle and the river. Its an old old moorish area that somehow, and no one can explain how, survived the earthquake and subsequent tidal wave in 1755. I just wandered around and got lost as recommended. Pretty nice walk as the sun set. Just winded around the alleys watching kids play soccer and old men drink their sangres and super bocks. Pretty beat though so its back to the hostel now for a relaxing night with some of the people I hung out with last night. Sintra tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

oceanariumoceanarium
oceanarium

lisboa oceanarium


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb