Swimming with Dolphins


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Azores » Pico
July 30th 2007
Published: August 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

[youtube=bcq-gyNCGhs]“. . . girl don't let your dreams be dreams
you know this living is not so hard as it seems . . .” Jack Johnson

The song that was playing in a café one day in June around the time I read about a holiday run by an English company where you can “swim with dolphins in the open ocean”. It just so happened their next trip worked perfectly into my schedule, so I signed on to the adventure to experience, up close and personal, one of my great loves . . . dolphins.

So here I am (let’s pretend I’m up to date with my blog) in the Azores, on the island of Pico, which is located between Portugal and the US. Pico reminds me a little bit of the big island of Hawaii but less developed and very little tourism.

Nine days, 21 Englishmen/women/children, and one American . . . I’ve picked up a lot of new “English” terms and maybe even a little bit of an accent. Out of respect for their culture, during the nine days I called french fries “chips”, chips “crisps” and even threw in a couple adjectives here and there
Pico from the BoatPico from the BoatPico from the Boat

The highest point in Portugal.
like “splendid”, “quite”, and “proper”. We had a great mix of families and individuals and I now have a lot more friends in the UK to come and visit.

Out of nine days we had six opportunities on the boats, three hours each time. Basically, we would drive around while spotters on land search for dolphins and whales with very powerful binoculars. The first day I was on the speedboat and we picked up a school of dolphins pretty quickly. Once we spot the dolphins we would stay near them to see if they are curious and want to “play” or if they’re hunting and don’t want to be bothered. Sometimes they just want to ride along side of the boat or will show off by jumping out of the water.

The first day I got in the water was with the striped dolphins and although it was brief, it was amazing. They are quite talkative too, even though I have no clue what they’re saying. I’m sure it’s something along the lines of, “what is this random thing in the water with us?” Three of them were swimming together and the one in the middle looked right
Dolphins in the LightDolphins in the LightDolphins in the Light

Sticking my camera in the water while we're moving.
at me and pretty much said “I don’t think so” and they took off.

I had a couple more experiences throughout the week, but my last one was by far the best. I can’t even describe the feeling to be out in the middle of the ocean with a snorkel, mask and a bunch of dolphins making some noise and swimming around, but it is pretty great. Every time someone would come out of the water they would have the big “dolphin smile”.

Other notable highlights or lowlights of the trip:
Shearwater Birds - Similar to a Seagull but ten times more annoying. These birds are quiet all day and then right at bedtime they fly around making the most annoying noise possible, and would make a point to fly right by my window. I wish I had a faster internet connection so I could upload the video I took at 4:AM on my last day so you can hear the sounds they make.

Attack of the Sea Urchin - All my years living near the beach I’ve managed to escape the needles of sea urchins, that is until now. After pulling a couple of the larger
Underwater Camera TestingUnderwater Camera TestingUnderwater Camera Testing

My Japanese peace sign pose. Very popular there.
needles out of my foot the chef at the hotel sat down with a needle and alcohol and dug into my foot for about 20 minutes to get the rest out. Good times.

Great Product to Share: For all those rugged travelers, people who want to take underwater photos, or those who tend to drop their cameras often (you know who you are), I highly recommend the Olympus Stylus 770 SW. It is waterproof up to 30ft, shockproof (you can drop it from 5ft, put 200lbs on it), and even takes video. I have done all of the above and after 9 days of hopping in and out of boats it’s still working!



Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

On our way to PicoOn our way to Pico
On our way to Pico

From the plane to a ferry and then a taxi ride.
In The WaterIn The Water
In The Water

An amazing experience.
Dolphin SmileDolphin Smile
Dolphin Smile

Robin and I after our swim.
Night on the TownNight on the Town
Night on the Town

Ciaran and his gals.
ImpressionsImpressions
Impressions

The English's impression of "Americans on a road trip."
Pink FlippersPink Flippers
Pink Flippers

Little fishies that loved my pink flippers.
Fancy Yummy Fish KebabFancy Yummy Fish Kebab
Fancy Yummy Fish Kebab

But after 9 days, I'm sick of fish.
Typical Day on the SpeedboatTypical Day on the Speedboat
Typical Day on the Speedboat

Searching for dolphins and whales.


19th August 2007

Memorie
Memories.....This aquatic Mammals are the most amazing beings - Sounds like you described my next trip!?
19th August 2007

Dolphins
Gosh, it's so great that you experienced them. They're amazing and BRILLIANT creatures. The pics are great! Love reading your blogs.
19th August 2007

Good times
I loved looking at your photos, brought back some excellent memories, and thank you for the credit too. The underwater ones look amazing, loved the Miguel one, and I love the 'Impressions' picture. Thanks for sharing.
20th August 2007

Christy Cousteau
I spell jealous: CHRISTY FOLEY, would it be irresponsible to ditch my children & husband for a blog entry w/ you??? Keep enjoying!! XxOoMia
20th August 2007

loving it!
Loving the blog - especially this entry Feels like I'm back at Pico If only... Sam x
25th August 2007

At last...
This is the blog i was waiting for. It sounds like a very interesting experience. Glad everything is working out ok for you and look forward to more from Africa. Keep safe!
25th May 2010

GREAT
I'm leaving for the Azores next week... hoping to do what you did! Just amazing!

Tot: 0.202s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 24; qc: 123; dbt: 0.1339s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb