Hotel Dom Vasco


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Alentejo » Sines
June 15th 2015
Published: June 15th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Today we are spending the day at the Alentenjo resort called Hotel Dom Vasco. It is so much more than I expected it to be. I knew we would be here all day with little to do during the day while Hector works. I woke up this morning as Hector was getting dressed for work. We chatted about breakfast, but I knew the girls would not want to wake up in time to eat, nor did I feel like wrestling alone in their fancy restaurant trying to keep the kids from breaking or spilling something. Once the girls naturally woke up on their own, we had some little cakes from the grocery store. I drank more coffee and watched tv. Then we decided to come down to the pool.

I must say this place is literally the most kid friendly place I have even been in all of Europe. To begin, the pools are heated AND THEY HAVE A BABY POOL. This was unbelievable. The entire grounds are magnificent, full of grass, and very nice lounging furniture. They have pool noodles and floats galore...even kick-boards. Even better is they have an entire section with toddler play houses and furniture throughout. The girls loved running into the little houses to keep warm from the chilly Atlantic breeze.

As we decidedly did not come down for breakfast, a nice woman came out and said that because we did not have breakfast she wanted to put together a snack platter for the girls to enjoy. I obliged, and luckily so because it was fantastic. It even had the little Portuguese pastries that I had read about. I couldn't believe it. They were so delicious, just melt in your mouth scrumptious.

The living/reading area heading down to the pool was equally as nice, also with toys and blocks for the kids. It has a piano, tv, computer, couches, and full bar. I loved reading the wonderful picture books. Still waiting on Hector to get back from work. It is past 6 pm now and I expect him soon. Dinner will probably be here in the hotel again tonight. There doesn't seem to be anything in the town as far as restaurants go. The town is mostly building with, seemingly, no one.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb