July 2nd - Red & White flag and I'm back in the pink


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Masovia » Warsaw
July 15th 2012
Published: July 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The Dutch roomThe Dutch roomThe Dutch room

I'm not sure what's so Dutch about it but there we go
July 2nd:

A decentish sleep under my belt and suddenly the horrible events of yesterday seem little more than a dried dog turd of a memory. I'm staying in the Dutch room (all of the rooms at this hostel are themed, most of them after countries) time to get out of this room see Warsaw! ...Oh, and still very sick, I bought drugs at the airport but I'm not sure if they're helping.

-Later-

Back at the hostel for a breather, I suppose I don't want to overtax my body; it's the old conflict between wanting to see the sights and wanting my body to recover. This is the first time that I've come to a new city at night and then awakened to see it in the daylight. Warsaw is HUGE I walked across this giant bridge (giant as in long, it was not in fact built by giants) and saw the stadium where the Eurocup final was presumably played last night. Warsaw is cheap too, my hostel is barely NZ$15-18 a night, most of my (non-alcoholic) drinks have been under NZ$1 as was my breakfast.

One other things... and I know it's not gentlmanly of
Vomitting statuesVomitting statuesVomitting statues

can't hold their bloody water
me to notice but; what is up with all the breasts?! I doubt there is a translation in Polish for "A-cup" even the skinniest "you could count their ribs" kind of girls have them. The women are mostly beautiful too though you get the feeling that most of them aren't even aware of it... some of them clearly are though.

They have these pedestrian subways which plenty of large cities have so you can avoid crossing the busiest streets and the cars, in turn, don't have to wait for you to cross. But where in most cities these are just tunnels, plain old urine smelling tunnels, in Warsaw they are almost like a second city underground, I saw a butcher, a baker... no sign of the candlestick maker but I'm sure he's in there somewhere!

Got a wee bit lost, saw a dirty man dressed in leather asleep (i hope) on a bench with flies all over him. I think getting lost can be a good part of travelling as you get to see parts of the city you wouldn't otherwise see. I went to a part of the city that I DID plan to see, currently sat
Sniper's eye viewSniper's eye viewSniper's eye view

from the top of the tower
next toa lovely fountain which is ringed with stone faces vomitting water, lovely.

Saw the tomb of the unknown soldier with it's constant burning flame and it's constant rigid soldiers standing to attention on either side... not very smiley chaps.

RAIN & ROADWORKS both seem to be playing a large part in my trip thus far.

-Laterer-

Why are the roadworks still going? It's nearly 11pm, an hour when some people want to sleep! I really want to sleep the sickness out of me since it seems to have been largely caused by lack of sleep, I have the room to myself tonight so if they'd just shut up...

Have booked Prague and looked up info on Nuremberg but yeahwhen your head is swimming with mucus, the idea of pulling into another strange city that you're going to have to navigate... starts feeling like too much work.



Oh well, the rest of the day was fun though... wish I could have had my 2 days here, but I did climb the observation tower so I at least got to 'see' the whole city. Saw an amber museum & jewellery store, sure grandad would've liked that, from memory he likes the kauri gum museum in NZ.

Please oh please let me be healthy tomorrow! Goodnight

Advertisement



Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0768s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb