After hearing the signal - DON'T GET OUT!


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Masovia » Warsaw
October 29th 2009
Published: October 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well hello again! 😊

I've got some great stories for you all this time 😊

First - the funny one.
So, yesterday as I'm riding in the metro on my way home from class, a mom and her young daughter get on at one of the stops. In every single metro car there is a sign "Po usłyszeniu sygnału dźwiękowego - nie wysiadać!" (After hearing the signal - don't get out ). So, the young girl points to the sign and asks her mother WHY we aren't allowed to get out after the doors beep and begin to close. The mother tells her "Dear, you know how there are people on the street asking for money who have no legs?? Well, THEY got out after hearing the signal...and look where they are now!" It took all I had in me not to burst into laughter right then and there! Definitely one of my most fond memories of the Metro Warszawskie.

The other is more of an observation more than a story. Walking around Warsaw, I've seen people from many walks of life. Those who stand out the most to be are the elderly here in Poland. As most of you may know, Poland has had a rough history - two World Wars, several invasions, genocide, communism, even at one point completely disappearing completely from the map of Europe. It's amazing and hard to imagine all of the difficulties the elderly have seen and lived through here. You can see it engraved on their faces. Yet, they go about their daily routines just as everyone else does in this busy city. I give them a lot of credit and it makes me even more proud to say that my roots come from here, too.

Sorry for the short post this time - I'm currently multi tasking...doing laundry which is a miracle itself! We have to make reservations here to use the washing facilities and its finnnnnnnnnnnnally my turn! :D

Hugs from Polska,
Nick

Advertisement



29th October 2009

Wonderful story
Loved the story....us Mothers are all the same....but that one takes the cake. What a wonderful observation about the elderly in Poland. It too makes me proud of my heritage...thank you. Glad to see that you are not doing laundry on a Sunday...haha! Keep those posts coming even the short ones are wonderful Love you.....Ciocia
29th October 2009

Thank Goodness....Clean Clothes
Hopefully this isn't the first time that you are getting to do laundry. Also, did we ever get registered for classes or are we just illegitimately attending???

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb