Zamosc


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lublin Province » Zamoœæ
July 27th 2010
Published: July 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

July 27 - I slept pretty well and the itchy has stopped! Yay Benadryl! I woke up at 7:45 and had breakfast and left around 8:30. I found the minibuses and the one to Zamosc was leaving just then, so the timing was great. It took 90 minutes so I was there by 10:15am or so. The town is cute, centered around a perfectly symmetrical square. I wandered around, went into the cathedral, climbed the belfry for some views, went to the museum, had pierogis for lunch at a milk bar, and then ran out of things to do. I am definately a big city girl, at least on vacation. The little towns are cute, but not exciting. I'm not the type who can sit around and drink coffees and watch the world go by, which would be great in a town like this. I got the bus back at 2pm and got back to Lublin at 3:30pm. I have been noticing that the radio stations play the same songs over and over. Much like in the US, I suppose. But I keep hearing Paula Abdul, Forever Young, and the soul sister song. Kind of funny.

Back in town I decided to go to the royal castle museum, since it was early still and the museum was open today. It was a typical assortment of art work, mostly paintings. I also paid to enter the Holy Trinity chapel in the castle. It is covered in frescos that have been restored. Nice to see, but no pictures allowed. Eventually I ran out of things to do and went back to the same restaurant as last night. By this time it was raining and became a total deluge. I sat outside again, where another group was eating. No one ever came to help me. I was writing in my journal for twenty five minutes and no service. Normally I would leave and go somewhere else. But I really didn't know where to go, so I went inside. He said I had to eat in there. There are only four tables but there was a free one. It was actually nicer inside with the weather anyway. I had a pizza and read my book. I am reading David Copperfield by Dickens. Not my first choice in books, but got it at a hostel. It is depressing but somehow funny to read. His writing is thick, so it is taking me much longer toread this book than one of the ones I would normally read. But that is good - it will last the duration of my trip.

On my way to the hostel I made one last stop in the tourist office and I'm glad I did. I asked about trains to Krakow and it turns out there are only two a day. So I have to get the 6:15am one unless I want to sit around here all day. Nope. I also have to get the bus at 5:27am to make the train. Awful. But it is what it is. Back at the hostel I showered and emailed a bit, and will try to email again later. The wifi still doesn't exist and someone else is on now. I packed up as much as possible and will wake up at 5am to speed through my morning to get to the train on time. Then I can sleep again, with any luck.



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

At churchAt church
At church

To commemorate children who died in the war


Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb