Boy Day


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lower Silesian » Wroclaw
September 30th 2010
Published: October 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

So for the last 2 days, the school has surprised us with extra lessons. Earlier extra lessons. Instead of starting at 9:50 like planned, they wanted us to teach the 8:50 lesson also. The problem with that is our normal bus leaves at 8:50. The next earliest bus leaves at 6:55!!! So we get up at 5, shower and get ready, eat breakfast and pack our lunch, walk to the bus stop, take a 30 minute bus ride to school, wait an hour and a half in the teacher lounge, then start teaching at 8:50. To say it is inconvenient would be an understatement. We started our extra lessons yesterday at the private school also. Nobody showed up to any of our 6 lessons yesterday and today. Sooo the other teachers gave up 15 minutes from their classes and had their students come to our room for a little while. None of these lessons went that well obviously since they 1. weren't the age and level of the students we had prepared for and 2. we only had 10-15 minutes to talk with them instead of the 45 like we were supposed to have. Also, a few of our students from the high school are also enrolled in the private school which means that half of the kids we're supposed to teach are going to hear the same lesson twice in 1 day. I don't know how or if these are going to work out but we are both exhausteddddd. I also burned my mouth to pieces on this cup of hot tea that I was forced to drink. Sidenote: I don't particularly like hot tea at all. People here drink a lot of it. They always ask if I want any and I politely decline. Today she made me a cup after I said no and told me to drink it anyways because I would like it. So thanks lady. I burned my mouth on your tea. And I still don't like it.

So in our first class of the day, one of the students said today was "Boy Day." What is boy day? I don't really know, but September 30th is Boy Day here in Poland. (Girl Day is March 9th I think from what they told me). Apparently on Boy Day, all girls/women/etc. are supposed to worship the ground that all males walk on for the entire day. Give them flowers, buy them desserts and food, do them favors, etc. During our 20 minute lunch break all of the female faculty had chipped in to buy all of these nice desserts for the male faculty. Then they sang some song in Polish to the guys. Des and I sat there awkwardly and silently... once again not knowing what was going on. One of the English speaker guys told us the girls were unprepared and unorganized and they should have had the desserts waiting for them when the break started. He asked if we understood Polish now. We said nope, still don't understand a word that was said in the past 15 minutes. He laughed and said, "yes you do! you understand Polish! hahaha." Well mister, no we don't.

And since I'm guessing its obvious I just need to rant a little and I'm not in the best of moods because I'm tired and today didn't go that well, our outlets in our kitchen and bathroom stopped working. Which means our microwave, washing machine, and refrigerator are all unoperable. Which therefore means, I can't wash my clothes (that are all dirty) or heat up food (which isn't really a problem no since all of our food isn't cold anymore anyways). We had to call the English teacher at the Sycow school to tell the vice principal (who speaks German and Polish, no English) who is friends with our landlady to tell her to come fix our stuff. Who knows if the message actually got to the landlady. Hopefully someone will come and fix this stuff soon.

Ahh I feel better now after whining a little. At least its the weekend and I won't have to see those people for 3 whole days.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0878s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb