Wroclow - the Polish city name I had the hardest time pronouncing!


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lower Silesian » Wroclaw
February 15th 2009
Published: February 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Again, I arrived in the evening at the train station. I'm getting pretty sick of long train journeys especially since I can't do anything but sleep on them. I thought I could update my journal or something but all I get is a headache. Bleh. My host met me at the station but he didn't expect me to arrive so late (it was like 8pm) and had plans to see a movie with a friend. I'm not too into movies and I didn't really mind so I wandered around Wroclaw for a couple of hours before setting up shop in the Mc Donalds since it was the only thing open in the main square at the time. When my host was done, he got me and we went back to his place. His mom was super nice and I guess she though I looked like I was cold so she put an extra blanket over me sometime in the night 😊 Apparently, I was the first asian she's met and it was a little awkward for me to have her keep staring at me while she fed me breakfast. It wasn't a big deal and I'd been getting looks from the Poles since Krakow anyway so I just ignored it.

Went out to explore Wroclaw and while it's old town is very cute, it's also very small. It's probably about a half day trip if anything, longer if you hit every museum in town. I didn't since I was all museumed out from Copenhagen. I did try to get into the tower in the town square but it was locked eventhough it said it was open 😊 Oh well. I made chow mein for my host but it was quite hard to find the right noodles so I improvised. I just hope I didn't give him indigestion while I was at it since I'm not all that amaying a cook.

I got the 6am train to Prague the next day and boy, was that a trial.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb