Finally!


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lower Silesian » Wroclaw
October 10th 2008
Published: October 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

GliwiceGliwiceGliwice

buildings down a side street
I finally have internet connection in my flat! After many frantic gestures and phrases in broken English and Polish, I managed to get the wireless password from my neighbors. So, welcome to my travel blog.


After only a few days in Wroclaw, my employer, Speed School of English, whisked me away to teacher training in Gliwice, Poland - about 3 hours away from Wroclaw, by train. The other new teachers in Gliwice are a lot of fun and I am sure we will do some traveling together in the future. But after spending so much time in Gliwice, I started to forget that I didn't live there... So it is nice to be back. Here are some pictures of the people and sites in Gliwice (pronounced "Gli-Veet-sa").


Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Gliwice churchGliwice church
Gliwice church

One of many churches in Gliwice - I'm sure it had a shrine to John Paul II in it somewhere...
Gliwice flatGliwice flat
Gliwice flat

This is what a lot of the flats in Gliwice look like. They are complete dumps on the inside.
fountains near farmers marketfountains near farmers market
fountains near farmers market

On my way to shop at the farmers market in Gliwice, I would often stop at this park
Jewish cemetery in Gliwice?Jewish cemetery in Gliwice?
Jewish cemetery in Gliwice?

All the headstones were written in Hebrew and the date of death was 1945 - Perhaps a Jewish cemetery? Not sure.
They still love JPIIThey still love JPII
They still love JPII

many posters of JPII throughout Poland.
Quaint parkQuaint park
Quaint park

Park near the flat I stayed in Gliwice and the church I liked to walk around
colorful buildingcolorful building
colorful building

Obviously this was post-commies
Adam, Poland's only great poetAdam, Poland's only great poet
Adam, Poland's only great poet

Big statue of some poet named Adam.
Gliwice flat gardensGliwice flat gardens
Gliwice flat gardens

Many high-rise flats in Gliwice off-set the urban feel by giving each flat a small plot of land to cultivate how they see fit.
Gliwice friendsGliwice friends
Gliwice friends

Nadine (21-Scotland); Narina (24-Canada); Nina (Gliwice)
me and drunk hobome and drunk hobo
me and drunk hobo

Hobo who kept buying everyone rounds; Chelsea; Nadine
Metal headsMetal heads
Metal heads

Georgina (25-England); Damien (34- Canada/England)
Matt rescues me from HoboMatt rescues me from Hobo
Matt rescues me from Hobo

Hobo; Matt (31-Canada); Chelsea


10th October 2008

Great to see the blog
Chelsea, I can tell this is going to be a fun blog to read. It's great to see the neighborhood and the city where you are.
13th October 2008

Jewish cemetery
Hi Chelsea, great photos. I don't understand how to use this blog but will figure it out soon. The cemetery with the red stars is a Russian cemetery, or a communist-based cemetery. Have fun!
24th January 2009

Cemetery
The writings on the headstones are not in hebrew but in russian.This is a cemetery for russian soldiers who fought and died there during the fights vs germans in early 1945.

Tot: 0.338s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.076s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb