Krakow, Poland


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lesser Poland » Kraków
May 1st 2016
Published: May 1st 2016
Edit Blog Post

I am now in Poland, the fifth new country I've visited so far on this trip. I am enjoying Krakow which, by all accounts, is the most attractive tourist destination in Poland. Krakow escaped much structural damage during the Second World War and the main square retains its medieval attractiveness. (See photo of busy main square) Wawel Hill and its castle is the place from which the kings of Poland ruled for several centuries. It is a pretty place in its own right and provides an impressive sight from down below next to the Vistula River. (See photo) Saint John Paul II was archbishop of Krakow for many years and there are pictures, plaques, and memorials of him all over town. My favorite is the statue on Wawel Hill near the cathedral. (See photo) Another VIP (Very Important Pole) attended the University of Krakow in the 15th century and he stayed in a building that is now a hotel named for him. (See photo of Hotel Copernicus) Nearby is a cafe with reputedly the best hot chocolate in town, so I had to stop in and try it myself. I watched the man in the kitchen stirring the little copper saucepan constantly for a good five minutes as he made my chocolate. I call that authentic! And I t looked great (see photo), but I'm sorry to say that is wasn't the best I've tasted on this trip. Today I visited the museum that is housed in the factory that was run by Oscar Schindler during WWII. The museum deals with all aspects of the Nazi occupation of Krakow during the war and is just excellent, especially the display of actual artifacts from that time, including Schindler's office desk and wall map. (See photo) In my photo, I tried to show some of the symbolic metal pots that are in the same room. The factory made pots and pans and the display includes 1,200 of them, one for every Jew that Schindler managed to place on his famous list. Poland suffered badly in WWII and under Soviet domination for the following 50 years or so, but as a visitor to Krakow today, I am most impressed with its liveliness and vitality.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.301s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 63; dbt: 0.1149s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb