3 days in Kraków #day1


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lesser Poland » Kraków
October 12th 2014
Published: October 12th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Checked in to Ibis hotel for a reasonable price of £100 for 3 nights and its bang on city centre location. After a 3 hour train journey from Warsaw to Kraków I needed a nap. After that my local friend picked me up and I was on my way to discover the city. The main square is a 10 mins walk from here so we go and try local cuisine followed by polish beer. I had the pierogi (dumplings) with spinach and cheese..."amazing" is an understatement, beetroot soup, winter tea and for dessert we had dumplings again his time with blueberry as it is in season here. it was my first time to have the same thing for main and dessert but I would definitely go back and order the same. My friend then showed me the markets that's right in the middle of the main square, which has a medieval vibe but you can buy lots of touristy stuff and not too expensive either. Later went on to walk around the city and saw the oldest building of the JagIellonian university, where Nicholas CopernIcus studied ( the man who proved the world is round). As its fall the weather is quite sunny and beautiful, but I was surprised to see everyone wearing a jacket and winter stuff while I was boiling in just a tshirt. By 7 pm we were starving and headed for dinner. As im vegetarian my friend recommended this place Chimera, a very studenty vibe, cheap food, delicious and healthy. it's not all vegetarian there but meat choice is limited, for a change. Paid 17 zł for a meal with a mix of 5 veg/fruits and had a nettle juice for 5 zł extra. After dinner we were on our way to book my tickets for Auschwitz tour the next day. We get to this tour booking place, I knew I was going to go regardless of the price, but it wasn't too bad, got my ticket for 135zł. The sign says from 65zł, but its for students only so was a bit gutted for few secs there. fyi, I didn't have enough cash on me to pay so my friend said ok let's go to another tour place, but then the man quickly responded it's ok u can pay by card lol ( even though the sign says no credit/debit card accepted) you can try it too. with my tickets booked I was ready to call it a night. will blog about my visit to Auschwitz later.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.057s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb