Poland - Krakow, Auschwitz, Wieliczka Salt Mine


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lesser Poland » Kraków
July 13th 2007
Published: January 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Poland - Krakow, Auschwitz


Trains transported prisoners to this workcamp near AuschwitzTrains transported prisoners to this workcamp near AuschwitzTrains transported prisoners to this workcamp near Auschwitz

There was a gas chamber here too, but the Germans evacuated this place in a hurry and blew up the gas chambers in an effort to hide evidence of the atrocities that occurred here.
7-13-07
I maybe slept 2 hours as I was tossing and turning most of the night. Drinking alcohol and it's effects on sleeping change as you age. I just do not sleep as well after throwing a few back. I got my stuff packed and was out the door quickly. Everything went great all the way to the train station. This was a different train station than I had arrived at. It was ok, but nothing great. Everything appeared dirty and the crowd appeared to be mainly partiers. I think people do come to Prague to party although it is such a beautiful place as well. A lot of the people I do not think found a bed. Although I just barely found a bed myself, as the sun was coming up as I was going down. As you might imagine I wasn't moving very quickly, but really did not feel hung-over just tired mainly. I used the internet at the train station where they also had a laundry mat for use. Things in Prague in my opinion are not all that cheap. Tourist have been coming long enough now that the prices have went up and I assume the standard of living is better now than it used to be for the Pragueee’s (new word I know). I wish I could have met Betsy there, the lady from Minnesota who studied there, but she was home for summer break. She is a very nice lady and I enjoyed my time we spent together in Galway, Ireland. It is amazing how the people you are around, effect you so profoundly. I have found myself liking and disliking places just based on a few people I have met in these locations. Madrid, Spain being the most glaring example.

I finished using the computers and went up to find out which platform I needed to go to. It was a little confusing there and the board was not that clear. Genius in my mind is simplicity. People who are able to simplify things are geniuses in my mind. As the saying goes, “Keep it Simple Stupid” is very true, but easier said than done.

I got on the train and was out of there. I liked Prague and it is a City that is a great place to visit and it is good for people of all ages. I recommend you go there.

Next stop Krakow. The topography of the Czech Republic is beautiful especially close to the German border. I had no idea it would be like that. The train I was on was not that great. It was pretty old and it was getting very hot. Again I felt like my health was improving slowly, but steadily each day. I was now up to about 60%. That might not sound too good, but I will take it based on how I had been feeling. The people behind me were from San Diego and the people sitting with me from Northern England and Scotland, and a lady behind them who was traveling by herself from San Francisco. We had a short stop in Poland to change trains and I talked to the lady from San Francisco for awhile. I tend to talk to people traveling by their self a little more as I suspect they enjoy talking the most. As I have said before you are more approachable by yourself.

We got on the train and I sat by her. She was very interesting as are most travelers especially those traveling by their self. I am not sure how fast this train is traveling that I am on in Denmark, but it is definitely moving right along. I would say it is around 150 mph. I feel like I am getting to be better at estimating the speed of these trains.

I was pretty impressed with this lady traveling by herself like she was. It is a little different ball game traveling by yourself especially if your a girl. The lady said everyone has been very helpful. I thought that I think I know why as she was wearing a low-cut blouse that says look at my boobs. I recently ran into a lady that was wearing very provocative clothes that says in my mind at least, I am easy, and she was complaining how guys are always hitting on her. I think people like this are just looking for attention. They get guys hitting on them and then she can complain to other people about that. I do not have much sympathy for this kind of person and the reactions they get. I do not think the lady I was sitting by was looking for attention I think it was just how she dresses and she
Wieliczka Salt Mine in KrakowWieliczka Salt Mine in KrakowWieliczka Salt Mine in Krakow

This is the entrance to the mine.
did not bother me as I didn't get the impression that she complained to other people about guys hitting on her, but I am sure they do.

This train was not a good one. Actually it pretty much sucked. It was hot and slow and appeared very old. I wondered if most trains in Poland are like that. I have gotten use to fast, clean trains having spent time in Germany recently. I think had I went there first this train would have not felt so bad, but I have been on the road now for 3.5 months and was a little weary.

Eventually we made it to Krakow and you got the feeling right away that things were a little different here than what I had gotten use to. I went to the tourist office, which was actually a place that gave out information on hostels and would check for hostel availability for you. That is just what I needed and the ladies working there were very friendly. I asked them to help me with a few Polish words as traveling is much more fun when you know a few of the local words. I spent about a 1/2 hour there and enjoyed talking to them and practicing the words. Normally they receive a portion of the fee, but I had no local currency and finally they said it makes more since for me to just pay the hostel the full amount. I felt bad that I could not pay them as they had been very helpful, but what could I do. I ask them if there was an ATM close and they said no.

I headed out with map in hand and a booked hostel. I was getting very tired and really didn't want to do anything tonight, but sleep. I booked a hostel that was about a 25 minute walk from the Old Town Centre. I thought this would result in a more quiet hostel. Again I felt like the weight on the tractor pull sled was all the way up as the pack felt heavier and I felt only about 40% down from the earlier 60% feeling. I made it to the hostel around 6 and got checked in. I asked for the quietest room they had. She acted like their was not much available.

She gave me the key and the
Horses used  in MineHorses used  in MineHorses used in Mine

These horses were used for work in the mine and very rarely left the mine. They had some health issues as a result.
room was near a stairs and the room next door contained some hard boozing Irish folks. I went back downstairs hoping to move rooms, but there was a big crowd checking in and I felt like I was complaining too much so I just went back to my room. After about an hour nap I went out for some quick food but really could not find anything as I was away from the town centre and most of the restaurants were closed. I found a grocery store and got some Sardines, chips, chocolate and drank water. The Sardines were in a barbecue sauce that I liked a lot. I still had the room to myself so that was good news. I went down the hallway and washed some clothes in the sink. After hanging them up in my room I heard the crazy Irish guys next door to me getting very loud. I walked out the door and looked at them, but they were already plowed and I think anything I might say might anger them and they would want to fight. There was no speaking logically to them. I went back in the room and decided to call it a night as I was wiped out.

7-14-07
Man I was wanting to kill the Irish guys next door. About 4 in the morning they got back and the one started making monkey noises. I kid you not, he would make this gorilla noise and then would intermix these sounds with the F-Word. He did this for about 15 minutes slamming chairs and hitting walls and then they left. I could hear them in other places of the dorm and then after about 10 minutes of this, they came back and the one guy continued making the monkey noises intermixed with the F-word. I have never heard anything like this before. What a cracker this guy was. The other guys in the room were loud too, but not to this animal instinctive level. I wanted to ask them if they would respect the other people in the dorm, but I knew such a rational comment would not go for with these drunk crazed guys. I was waiting for the authorities to come and take these guys down town, but that did not happen. I am sure the hostel staff was afraid of him as well. I was so tired that about 5:30 I fell asleep as these weirdoes had finally settled down a little. At 7:00 I got up and headed for the showers. Needless to say I did not worry about how noisy I was and actually one time I hit the wall just hoping I would disturb these guys, but I suspect they were so far out of it a jet taking off in my room would not have woke them up.

I got my shower and went downstairs as I had signed up for the tour of the nearby salt mine and for Auschwitz. I was really excited about Auschwitz, but did not care too much about the Salt Mines. The whole days trips including guides was costing me about $65, which I could have done for about 1/2 the price, but without a guide on my own. I was tired and really did not feel like dealing with the hassle as this way all I had to do is jump on the bus and leave. There was several people taking the bus from our hostel and then we stopped at several other hostels and hotels to pick people up. One kid was really slow getting out of the hostel and the driver was really pacing a lot. I was thinking now if this kid makes us get back late for the Auschwitz tour I am going to be pissed as we waited for about 15 minutes for him.

We finally got going. There appeared to be quite a bit of confusion with this guide service. An older guy, the last of the group to get in the van, had to sit in a chair by the driver and the tour guide got out as the van was full and said she would meet us at the Salt Mine. The ride there was fairly short and then we had to wait for another group. I was hoping we would not get with another group with only one guide as big groups are not good.

Finally we went in with the other group and our tour guide met us. The group size really was not too bad and we jumped in the mine and headed down. We took steps for a pretty long ways and I wondered how the older people were making it. We were around 60 meters or 180 ft down I estimate as I really do not remember the exact distance, but at the maximum we were around 130 meters or around 400 ft. down. The whole thing to me was a little silly as they just had displays of how the salt mining use to be conducted. There was no active mining here anymore. I was not all that impressed. At the bottom there was a big chapel and you were supposed to buy a ticket to get permission to take pictures. This was the most impressive thing in the mine and after already paying your admission fee you had to pay more to take pictures of this chapel. I like it when people tell you the cost upfront and do not try to sneak the cost in. I do not paying the cost I just want them to be forthright with the cost. One of the budget airlines in Europe charges you a fee to check even one baggage. Almost everyone has one bag to check in. Again I wish they would tell me that cost when I buy the ticket. I know they do in the fine print but who reads all that. The cost was only like $5 for the baggage but it is the principle more than anything. Both are examples of trickery to me to get more money out of you. Some people did buy the tickets others just took the pictures.

The Chapel was a big room and they had mass there and some weddings were held there as well. Some locations of the wall were carved monuments out of the salt. That was very cool and the altar too was carved from the salt. Earlier in the tour I had moistened my finger and touched the side of the wall and indeed the walls were very salty. Everything in the mine was well preserved, as the tour guide noted, because of salt being such a good preservative.

I talked to the guy that was late leaving his hostel a little. He was from England near London. He really was interesting to talk to as he has traveled all over the world. He said he borrowed money for the trip and has about 10,000 pounds on loan from the bank and another 10,000 pounds on loan from his father. He mentioned some of his conquest with women on the trip and I was a little turned off by all that. It sounded like most of the women were using him just as much as he was using them. I really do not feel sorry for the women like that as they are just as much irresponsible as the guys are in my mind even though they so often want to play the victim role. I just do not buy into that any more. I ask him how he communicates with them when they speak a different language like some of the Asian women and he said it is all in the body language. That seemed funny to me and I told him that is the quote of the day for me. " It is all in the body language."

At the very bottom of the mine there was a big room and you could take an elevator about 100 ft. Up for a so called panoramic view for a fee of course. I couldn't believe going up that elevator a 100 ft. Was going to give you that much better of a view.

I was surprised, but the elevator ride to the surface was included in the cost of the
Will be a long time before the World forgets about this event.Will be a long time before the World forgets about this event.Will be a long time before the World forgets about this event.

Over time however, I fear similar atrocities will occur. Currently genocides on a lesser scale are happening in Africa. Many civilians do not know about it and a lot of the leaders ignore it, becuase the african countrys do not have resources they want.
entrance ticket fee. There was a restaurant in the bottom of the mine. The English guy had bought a big bottle of water and was drinking a lot of water. He said he had only slept about an hour as he had been out partying all night.

We got back to the surface and headed for the van. We retraced our steps and made it back to the hostel with about 1 hour to kill before leaving for Auschwitz. I went to the store nearby and got some food for lunch, which I ate in my room. I went out to the meeting point about 10 minutes before we were to leave and the van was already almost full. There were a lot of the same people on this tour as were in the morning tour. There were three women from Norway near Oslo that to me were the most beautiful women I have seen on this trip. One was extremely attractive. They got out of the van and all started smoking cigarettes. Their attractiveness just plummeted. They went to being very average. The tour guide asked me if I would mind riding in the van that just pulled up and of course said that would be fine, but really would have preferred to ride with the Norwegian ladies.

The drive to Auschwitz was about an hour in length. It was a very hot day and this van had no air conditioning. Fortunately, there were mostly young people on this van and not many people were sweating a lot, which made the trip more bearable.

We went to Auschwitz 1 first and then to Auschwitz 2 later. There are three Auschwitz Camps with the first place being the original area where they had a couple gas chambers and then Auschwitz 2 (Birkenaw (sp)) was the location where the most of the killing was carried out. The Nazis were so ruthless. They had rules like if a prisoner escaped they would kill 10 other members of the group of people in the buildings where the escapee stayed or they would kill their family members. They also had extreme torture measures where a lot of prisoners died. They would have to work 12 hours of hard labor then be crammed into a stand up cell where they had to spend the nights. There was essentially no sleep for them.
Death WallDeath WallDeath Wall

This is where prisoners was shot.
It is the most brutal stuff I have ever heard of. Because of all this very view people ever tried to escape and there were very few uprisings. The Germans were great at torturing people.

I did not like our Auschwitz tour guide for several reasons. First of all she was always complaining about other people being too noisy in other groups or other individuals traveling on there own. These tour groups like ours in general get on my nerves. These other people have just as much right to be there as these tour groups. If I was one of those other people I would have told her I paid an admission to this place just like everyone else did and that I do not have to quit talking to other people just because of our tour group. She had laryngitis too which I guess was part of the reason she was so irritable with people talking around her. Secondly the lady made the comment that the allies (US, UK, Australia etc.) on the western front did not come directly to Auschwitz to stop the massacres being performed there, but instead worked their way from the west instead of
Prisoner's Air VentsPrisoner's Air VentsPrisoner's Air Vents

They had cells where the only air came from these holes. When it snowed they suffocated to death.
dropping in troops from the skys. I ask her in private what were the reasons the allies gave for not coming directly here to stop the Holocost slaughters. She had implied to the group, that the allies may not have cared about the Jews either. She said the allies give reasons like it was not the best war strategy. I told her that yes some of this kind of thing is going on today in Africa where people are being slaughtered, but the world is not coming to their aid namely in Darfur. She then blindsided me with the comment that yes and their is not democracy in Iraq either. I was trying to understand the correlation of that comment to understanding why the allies did not come directly to Auschwitz. She obviously was looking for a reason to asy something bad about America, which I run into all the time and am getting plenty sick of it. Maybe Poland should go into these African countrys like Darfur and do some good. Everybody wants the Americans to be all things. When your a powerful country you will always be criticised. The world can be happy though our strength will not
I was ThereI was ThereI was There

Glad was not there "Then".
last forever and someday say in a few decades the world will have someone stronger say like China and India. Then the world can criticize them like the rest of the world does us. I think of the crazieness I have recently seen in those countries and I wonder what they will do when in power. A lot of the American disdain has to do with Bush, who I never voted for as did most Americans not vote for him, but with the electoral college the way it is you can be elected president without the majority voting for you.

The group was reconvening to continue the tour and I was still trying to understand that comment. Finally I just figured she had been wanting to say that seeing that I was an American. I was a little upset with her about that comment. The allies had lots of people killed to remove Hitler's regime and you get this kind of gratitude. People are never satisfied. Maybe the allies should have just let Hitler do his thing. It sure would have been a lot easier traveling in Europe as all I would have to do is learn German
The entrance to the Gas ChamberThe entrance to the Gas ChamberThe entrance to the Gas Chamber

Some of the Gas Chambers were blow up by the Germans before they left to hide evidence but not this one.
and use one currency the Duetchmark. I asked the lady her heritage and she said she was from Poland. Maybe she was just having a bad day or lost lots of relatives in the war? It is hard to judge a person after only knowing them for a day. Just like someone who reads one of my entries and thinks they know everything there is to know about me. I was wanting to say more to the lady, but I didn't. I was talking to some Icelandic kids and I mentioned that comment to them and they said it would not make since to them for the allies to fly over the enemy territory trying to reach Auschwitz. I said yea maybe you could have saved some of the people, but at a great loss of life and maybe at the cost of losing the war. The Icelandic guys made the comment that to them it seems the young Polish are cool, but the old folks tend to be a little grumpy. I had rode the entire trip to Auschwitz with these guys right beside me and I hadn't even said hi to them. Now I am finding they are quite fun to talk to. All I can say is talk to your neighbors. A lot of times they are very interesting people. Actually everyone is of interest in a certain way. Don't count anyone out. You might be surprised at who is sitting next to you.

I left the Auswitz tour feeling a little disappointed. For one reason I thought the tour guide was a little bit bitter at maybe her life, definitely did not like Americans , or maybe just had some rough things going on in her life at the time. I do not know, but I did not like her attitude at all. Also it seemed we were being shuffled around a lot and it was hard to really absorb it all. It was hard to just take yourself back to the camps and to imagine yourself being there with this lady barking out orders. She was kind of pretty and often those people are so full of their self. Also a lot of people had talked about how great the video was at Auschwitz and we did not even get to see it. I ask them if you come individually do you get to
ARBEIT MACHT FREIARBEIT MACHT FREIARBEIT MACHT FREI

This means in German if you work you will be free. Lots of propoganda in the Germans killing Machine.
see the movie with your normal admission and the guide said yes. She said with a group you have to reserve a room and they had not done it. I knew we were not going to get to see the movie although the guides said we could purchase it. They think all tourist are rich I think. The guide that brought us to the Camp was really nice and I liked her a lot, it was just the tour guide that took us around the camp that I did not like. The guide I liked had actually worked today even though today was her day off. She also had to sit on the floor of the bus as we drove as their where not enough seats.

On the way back they asked if any of us wanted to be let off in the Old Town area where all the action was and several of us said yes including myself. I had been in Krakow now for more than a day and have not been in the Old Town area, which is the big draw. I walked with the tour guide for awhile and she told me where to go
BedsBedsBeds

The prisoners slept in these bunks. About 8 would lie in one bunk. Many people died just from exhaustion and disease.
and then we parted ways as she had to go in a different direction. I thanked her and said Adios.

I walked around looking for the perfect place to eat, but could not find it. I finally decided to go into this bar area and have a drink and eat there as I was getting tired of walking around. There was a few other people at the bar so I decided to go to the restroom while waiting in line. Their was a lady at the door there to collect money. I didn't think she was actually collecting money for partrons of the bar. I indicated I was drinking beer at the bar and she indicated I had to pay if I wanted to use the bathroom, I finally said forget it then, I would let my bladder rupture before I pay in a place that I am patronizing. I walked farther and got my map out and realized I was walking in the direction of the hostel. I saw a bar that was pretty primitive so I went in and got a beer. I had to go downstairs where there were two older guys watching a volleyball match. The polish seem to really follow volleyball. A Russian team was playing someone. I assume they were rooting for the Russian team. I said in Polish the lady was very nice and she had a big smile on her face. I think when I do that I may be embarrassing them a little.

After a quick drink I headed towards the hostel. Oh at this bar they had a sign at the toilet too that said 0.50 per use, but the lady let me right in since I bought a beer I assume. I think this toilet stuff is simply a way for them to get some easy money. Everyone that comes to a bar has to use the toilet. The signs should say if not a patron of the bar the fee should be 0.50.

I stopped and grabbed some food at the grocery store and went back to the hostel where everything seemed pretty calm. I did not see the crazy Irish guys. Maybe they left even though the lady at the front desk told me last night, they were staying another night. I ate my supper and did a little reading about Krakow and called
Supper is servedSupper is servedSupper is served

Pringles, cheese and water. I need to start eating more healthy.
it a night. Lets hope the Irish do not return. I knew my cold was much better so I was really not worried about that craziness anymore.

7-15-07
Surprisingly I slept pretty good through the night. I never did hear the crazy Irishman. They must not have stayed another night or surely I would have heard them. I headed for some breakfast at the nearby Milky Bar which is a hold over from the Soviet Union days in Poland. The food is supposed to be really cheap as the food is subsidized by the government.

I saw the food that I always seem to crave. Eggs. They had hard boiled eggs. I got a couple of those and some bread at a cost of around $4.00. I thought the price was good, but not astounding. I then saw them bring out hot scrambled eggs with what looked like some melted cheese. I sure wish I had known that was on the menu. I had no idea what the polish word for that was and now that I could have pointed to it I already had my meal. I was content with what I had and enjoyed eating it. It was neat watching the people come in and get their food. A guy I estimate to be in his 40's came in with a little boy and got a bag full of food. They obviously knew the cook as they chatted for awhile. I enjoyed the people watching.

I got back to the hostel and used their computer for awhile. This was one of the first hostels I have been to that you actually can use their free internet computers as most of them where it is free, is normally really hard to get access to as other people are using them. The people working there were really nice people and I felt a little bad complaining as much I had. Mainly my complaint was that Irish guy. He was way out of control, but maybe they were just afraid of him as I was. He was a very big guy and had a very crazed look in his eye.

After using the computer I went and got my stuff and checked out of the room about an hour later than I was supposed to. As I said the people working there were very nice just did not discipline things very well maybe just because they were a little inexperienced. I thanked them and reiterated to them that I thought they were very nice and they smiled at that. I hope they realize I am sincere about that. I have heard people say before that Americans say things like that, but they get the impression they do not really mean it. Well I mean it!

From there I walked to the train station. I talked to the people there and discussed my options with the ticket guy. It appeared my best option was to take the night train to Berlin. I was a little concerned what the night train might be like, but that was by far my best option monetarily as I did not have to worry about lodging the night traveling on the train. I bought the ticket and then went to check my bag. It was pretty cheap to do so and I was free to see the City. I walked down to the Wawel castle a place I had not been to yet. It was very cool and this is Pope John Paul II country. He traipsed all over this City as he had went to school here. I think that guy was a very good man and obvious he was well respected as a pope. From there I walked into the Jewish District called Kazmierz. I went to the Jewish cemetery. This cemetery was big and was in pretty much disarray. Lots of overgrown grasses and weeds. Some of the stones were not that old. I wondered why the current Jewish people did not take better care of this cemetery. You saw quite of few stones that had 1942-1943 on them. I suspect they had no idea when the person had died just assumed somewhere between those years as Auschwitz was just down the road from there. I talked to an English guy for awhile who like me was traveling for an extended period of time. He was fun to talk to and was going east from here through Russia and to Asia. This is a much harder trip than I am taking. I wished him luck and he did the same for me.

I had plenty of time so I took my time. It was a very hot day I saw one sign that said 35 deg C which
Another Church in KrakowAnother Church in KrakowAnother Church in Krakow

The statues of the apostles reminded me of the statues on top of St. Peter's Cathedral.
is about 100 deg. F. I was about 70% today so I did not want to push myself too much so I decided to sit down right when I did I realized I had sat on something sticky. It appeared to be some sap from the tree above the bench. Not good.

I decided to walk down to the location of the movie Schindler's list. This is where Oscar Schindler had his factory where he saved Jews from death by putting them to work there, where he actually cared for them. He saved several 100 Jews from sure death here. They charged a fee and I went ahead and paid it as it seemed the more I traveled the more I felt interested in the Nazi stuff. They were evil people, but I must say very good at being evil those Germans were.

I walked back up to around the castle and decided to try and find some of the Pope John Paul stuff and managed to find the place he lived and that was about it. I had stopped at a Catholic church earlier in the day and saw where they had a mass at 6:00 and I decided to go to it. I had always wanted to hear the organ music in one of these churches on this trip, but never went. This was not that big of church, but I had the time so I thought what the heck I would check it out. I had a little trouble finding the church back as it was not one of those monstrosity’s that you could see regardless of where you were in town. I did find it and went in. I think this is the first time in my life that I have ever went to mass just because I wanted to and not because I was supposed to. It felt kind of good going to church because I wanted to. The mass was in Polish so I virtually understood nothing, but could follow a long a little just because of knowing the mass so well from all the years of going to English speaking masses. At the time for communion I walked up with about 5 other people who were going to communion as well and they all knelt down and the priest gave them communion. They then walked back to the altar not even acknowledging me being there, so I walked back to my seat feeling a little silly and confused about what just happened. When mass was over I tried asking a young lady that had been at mass why I did not get communion, but she spoke no English.

From there I walked to the train station trying to figure how much Polish money I had left and trying to spend it before leaving, which usually is not a problem. I went to a store and bought some sardines and chips. I must say I have eaten quite a few sardines on this trip. I went to the train station, got my bags, and ate the sardines and chips. They were ok, but not great.

I then worked my way to the train platform, but decided to use the restroom first. When arriving there of course there was an attendant, but this sign in front of the restroom was like none I have ever seen. It said if you had to pissure the cost was 1.50; to sit on a toilet 2.00; to just wash hands 0.50. I laughed at this and said you have got to be kidding and shook my head and say ok here is 1.50 for pissure. All actions were shown with caractures performing the appropriate action. I pissured and then sat my bag down to brush my teeth. At one time the lady came storming in to do something with the trash can. I think she was just trying to catch me in the act of doing something other than pissure I believe. Not sure? It all seemed quite comical. As I left the restroom I was waiting for a guy to move so I could take a picture of the sign. The lady saw me and through her hand up over the sign so I couldn't take a picture and said no. I was tempted just to flash the picture anyway, but thought this lady needs this victory more than I do, so I put my camera away and said thank you in Polish. She said thank you back. Wow what a weird series of events there. I think these Icelandic kids were right the older people do not like us tourist as this was a lady I assume to be in her 50's. Who knows maybe she was having a bad day. As I walked back to the platform I needed to be at I was looking for another restroom to see if they had a sign as well. I was now running a little late and found a restroom and went there and there was no sign and no attendant for that matter either. I walked in without paying a dime. Maybe this lady was not supposed to be doing what she was and for that reason put the hand up. I have no idea.

I walked to the platform and enjoyed talking to the Polish men working on the train. We talked about several things. One thing I noticed there was no ladder to the beds. I was on the top bunk and ask him how I was to get up there? He said your tall just jump. He was obviously being silly and I kidded with him as well. It was really hot on the train and there was no way anyone was going to sleep and the top bunk was the worst. I picked the top because there is storage up there and usually a little more head room, but not on this train. The train actually was quite new and nice. A couple, a single man, and two guys who were traveling together were all in the compartment with me. The two guys walked on the train with a beer each and I was like oh boy here we go a big party on the train, but after I got to talking to them they seemed pretty cool. The one kid was from St. Louis surprisingly as he lived in the Fenton area and the other kid was from Seattle. I enjoyed talking to them and they seemed pretty courteous. They were studying in Rome and were traveling for awhile before going back to the states. This is a very common thing to do. The single guy knew about 5 different languages and was very interesting to talk to as well and the couple was fun too. This was so surprising as I was concerned on who I may be sleeping with, but this is probably the safest group to date. I got in my bed and laid there for awhile and finally fell asleep after I quit sweating as it was really hot on the train. I am becoming much better at sleeping in weird locations.
Oscar Schindler's Work CampOscar Schindler's Work CampOscar Schindler's Work Camp

It was located in Krakow and the movie was filmed here. This is the entrance to the work camp.
Good Night. I got a few weird responses while in Krakow mainly the older people but ran into a lot of really nice younger people. I feel bad about the couple bad experiences and wondered if maybe I could have done something differently but suspect they are just a little bitter about something in their life. We all have our days including me.









Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 37


Advertisement

Oscar Schindler's Work CampOscar Schindler's Work Camp
Oscar Schindler's Work Camp

Inside the work camp.
Oscar Schindler's Work CampOscar Schindler's Work Camp
Oscar Schindler's Work Camp

Inside the work camp.
Pope John Paul IIPope John Paul II
Pope John Paul II

Pope John was from this town. He lived in the house this banned was on. He was a great man! There you go youth of America there's a hero for you.


13th January 2008

Howdy
That was quite the interesting read. I would like to visit Poland sometime and see everything there as well. It's hard to fathom the extent of killing that went on there. The salt mine would be neat to see as well. Have a good day Dave! Mark
16th January 2008

Crazed Politicians
Yep I think it would be good if everyone in the world would see what can happen when you get crazed Politicians, which is what Hitler was.
25th March 2008

Tour Guide
Dave - did you ever think the tour guide was a bit cranky because maybe she has lost relatives in the camp and then had you put up with your "american hater" attidue toward her?. Seconldy - regards the attidude of the older people in Poland - these older people were brought up under a communist regime and so find the wealth and freedom people from other non communist countries difficult to understand and are possible a bit resentful of. You are a visitor to their country and should take their way of life into consideration. You definelty should continue your travels - it might broaden your mind a bit, and you wonder why there are "american haters" as you call them our there??. I dont think its the Polish people who have the problem here. Sorry - but you dont paint yourself in a good light.
27th March 2008

Tour Guide
Sorry I have offended you. The tour guide stated in the tour that the allies were criticized for not coming directly to Poland and stated indirectly that maybe it was because the allies did not like the Jews. The allies hated the Jews is what some people would take from her comments. She is telling this story to everyone that comes on her tours everyday. I simply asked her what was the reason that the allies gave and she said they said it was not good war strategy. I said the same kind of thing is going on today, in Darfur for example genocides are happening and the rest of the world is not coming to their aid either. Then totally out of context she said their is no democracy in Iraq either. I did not agree or disagree with the allies strategy just said this kind of thing goes on today in 2007. With regards to the older people ( these folks I refer to in the text were in their 50's) seeming a little grumpy, your probably right their horrific past may effect them today. Not sure. I was just stating what I observed and how I viewed it. I recently met two extremely nice Polish women in their mid 20's who said they view their country as a sad country. I only spent two days in the country and really did not get a very good sampling of the people. That is their opinion. Everyone is entitled to their opinion. Again sorry for the offense. Traveling is great. I have learned so much about how the people in other countries live. I have heard American bashing throughout my travels. Sure we make mistakes but we do a lot of good as well that seems to go unnoticed. Whenever your a powerful Country, or on an individual basis whenever you do anything in life, your going to be criticized by someone. People that have traveled the US and met the people tell me they are some of the nicest people in the world and then say they do not like the politics in the US currently (which I do not either). They differentiate however between the people and the politics. People that have not traveled the US lump the two together. I really do not give people much credibility when they criticize a country they have never been to. The people of a nation live in the countryside as well, they do not live in the big City's. Again sorry for the offense!
27th March 2008

tour guide
Dave - you did not cause me any offense - I was just stating my opion to what you had written - I am not polish, I am infact irish and have travelled extensivly throughout europe, asia, australia and also the US. Part of ehat I enjoy about the travelling is experiecing other cultures, which what I was saying when I referred to the older people in Poland not fully embracing their emergence from communisum. As an Irish person, I can also sympathis with you having to put up will the drunken Irish lads in your hostel, unfortunalty, they, painted themselves and probably other irish people in a bad light to you. As you said, this is the problem, the actions of some people tend to set the perception for en entire group - especially if those actions were annoying in the first place!!.
28th March 2008

Tour Guide
I agree with you during our travels, it is difficult to get to know people in a country as we only get to meet a very small sampling of them. I met two Irish in Beijing recently that were some of the nicest people that you will ever meet. I talked to a Russian Couple last night and two Iranian girls yesterday as well. They are very nice. The take home message for me has been there are nice people all over this world. Each country's politicians send out the propoganda they want their people to hear. Politicians are corrupt all over this world and unfortunately until politicians start fighting wars I think their will always be wars. All we can do is to keep spreading goodwill each day and hope it becomes contaigous! Happy travels!
13th May 2008

Krakow blog
I'm Planning a trip to Krakow and stumbled upon your blog. Appreciate that you took the time to do this as it is helpful for fellow travellers. I assume from the amount of complaints within your blog that you must be American. I'm curious to know if your travels have opened your mind up a bit in terms of adaptating to/ accepting different cultures. Although I am generalizing with this statement... I cannot comprehend why you lot bother to travel!
23rd May 2008

Not sure of your comment
Not traveling is the worst thing to happen. Through traveling you realize there are nice people all over this world and that politicians are the ones who screw things up. They tell you one thing to get your vote and then do whatever they want while in office. I see crazy propoganda all over this world most of which is not true. The people that spread this propaganda normally have never traveled to the country that they spread rumours about. I see it all over Europe and in the US. The cycle of craziness has been happening for 1,000´s of years. European powers were out there fighting wars and colonizing countries wiping out the indigenous people since the 1500´s, but then WWII happened which devastated Europe and banlkrupted many countries and now the US has taken over where Europe left off unfortunately. The world needs better politicians. Politicians that reflect the people. Traveling is good because you learn to separate politics from the people. I went to China for this reason. I suspect they will be the world power in a few years and I wanted to meet those people. They are very nice people and I will know in the future when China does crazy things not to blame the people, but to blame the Chinese government. It is an important distinction to make!

Tot: 0.481s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 18; qc: 101; dbt: 0.154s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.7mb