Yaaaassss made it to hostel :D 00.50


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lesser Poland » Kraków
December 29th 2006
Published: December 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi kids hows it going up north,

Heehee, yaden bilet do pedzichow proche definitely worked because I am in pedzichow as we speak 😊

IT IS VERY VERY VERY COLD IN KRAKOW. in fact, it's snowing. I, however, am nice and snug and warm in this lounge, typing away and gabbing with the English gal from near Derby who has now gone to bed. I'm considering joining her for a week in France for skiing, because she has a space in her group. So might head over to France! But I doubt it. Czech and Slovakia are much cheaper for skiing.

Made it to the hostel after about an hour of trying to find the right stop for the tram, then the right direction. When I was told 'get the no5 tram from outside Krakow Glowny' I thought, right, I'll walk out the exit and there will be a tram stop and I will jump on a 5. But NO. First I had to walk around this huge station, because it has hunners of exits. Then i found the tram stop for 5 about 30 minutes later. So i stood for ages. Like 20 mins. Wondering why no one was getting killed, because the tram stops in the middle of the road, and people are waiting on the pavement. So when your tram stops, you have to run at the speed of light through the traffic. If the red light is on, ok you're lucky because the cars ain't moving. Otherwise just close your eyes and run. This was very alarming to watch people do, yet amusing at the same time. Oh wait, did I say if the red light is on, cars won't be moving? Let me correct that. If the red light is on you must stop. However, if you don't feel like stopping, you may drive. If the green man is flashing, it means you can walk and cars will stop. But do not walk. Run, VERY FAST, because if cars like, they will drive through. So. Eventually a 5 came along. BUT. It was going in the opposite direction. I needed to go towards Kuiearywieytgwuet Geqt8yw87ietiewdftrbwietw, so I thought righty, im getting it from across the road. But you see, across the road means going back through the station, around a roundabout, past a block, and to the other side of the road. Polish transport officially sucks!! As agreed in general by Poles themselves.

Oh yeah I forgot to add, the train to Krakow wasn't a rickety ramshackle, in fact it was alright! Had a good kip and a good munch. Marlena had packed me a wee packed lunch, it was so cute. Some cheese rolls, then plain rolls and a big chunk of Brie, and a bit of chocolate, and some fruit. 😊 How sweet. Thank you Marlena, it was very delicious. I'm getting good at 'walking-along-the-street-taking-alternate-bites-of-roll-and-big-chunk-of-cheese' type meals.

My fave dance track just came on... if I could write music I'd try to explain how it goes... kinda like this.. la lalaaaa... la lalaaa.... rararararaaaa...

Got to the hostel and dumped my stuff. This one's more hostely. The one in Berlin was more homely and cosy and small.

Then I went for a wander round Krakow. The main stuff to see is all fairly close. So I walked along to Market Square, centre of Krakow. It's pretty and all, but I'm getting a bit fed up of seeing pretty buildings and castles on hills. It's a different version of the same thing in all the cities. Really wanted to go to Zakopane because of this, but ALL the hostels were full because of New Years.
Went up to Wawel Castle, which was quite impressive, especially at night in snow. Might go in tomorrow, although I doubt I'll have time. Went along Kanonicza street, apparently the prettiest street in Krakow. Yeah it was alright, same pretty houses and buildings like in most places here.

It was really very freezing though, so I headed back earlier than planned. Btw, Krakow really is clubbing capital of Europe, I mean there's hundreds of clubs, everywhere. Mostly underground. On ground level it's mainly cosy wee restaurants. But you can tell there's clubs, firstly because of the signs, duuhh, but also because you can hear the cheesy pop, or the doomph doomph doomph, or the eoitwietgaaaaaaaaaaaawietwietgwe (rock). It kinda clashes with everything in Krakow. I mean, it's a very old city, with a high standard of architecture and cobbled streets, and then you have all these clubs. But they are underground so it doesn't really ruin the views/scenes.

Tomorrow I'm going on a guided tour organised by this hostel to Auschwitz and Wieliczka. For non-history buffs: Auschwitz=old Nazi concentration camp and Wieliczka=salt mines.

LMAO forgot to add, on my way to this lounge, there were two completely naked guys running around in the dark in the snow and laughing like it was the funniest thing they ever did in their lives. Haha I couldn't help laughing when they said 'boy, it's cold'. I mean, really?! And someone took pictures of them but they didn't know who because they just saw some camera flashes and they were like, oi, oi. Probably their own mates!

It kinda makes me wish I was travelling with someone too. Not because I want someone to run around in the dark with lol but just because it makes everything so much more exciting, and I'd probably be even more motivated if someone was with me. It's nice to be able to say 'wow, that's cool/pretty/awesome!' to someone. Although I am meeting people at most points along the way. And also, it's nice to have someone to eat with. Mostly I'm just eating bread and cheese whilst walking along, but that's quite fun too. I popped into an Egyptian kebab shop on way back from walk and bought a veggie kebab to warm my fingers on and it was YUMMY.

Right, my laundry load is probably done now, so better head and pop it in dryer. Got an early start tomorrow! If I can be bothered waking up before 8am, I'll head to Kazimierz, the Jewish area. Meant to be good wee streets for picking up odd bits and pieces for souvenirs etc. Yeah I will wake up early actually, then I can cross the river Wisla at Kazimierz and go to Schindler's Factory. I can sleep tomorrow night. Or the train on Sat morning. Life is too short to sleep instead of sightseeing! You aren't always travelling!

Over and oot.
Catch ye'z
xxxxx

Advertisement



29th December 2006

no title cos wer so boring
haha! guess who?
29th December 2006

let me guess...
PEA BRAIN
1st January 2007

"pretty and all, but I'm getting a bit fed up of seeing pretty buildings and castles on hills" Man, that was someting. That made me fell of my chair.

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb