The Grey Zone


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lesser Poland » Auschwitz
December 5th 2006
Published: December 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I don't have too much to say about visiting Auschwitz.. Though it definately deserves it's own place in my story.

I wasn't moved to tears, put it that way, the inquistive English photo-tourist in my group made sure of that. I took a tour, not "typical me", but it's winter, the days are short, and this place is about the people and their stories, not the architecture or beautiful view. There's plenty to read around the camp if you want to walk by yourself, but my attention span isn't that long these days and I'd much rather have someone narrate to me.

Visiting Auschwitz was one of the things I hadn't spoken to anyone about, but felt I had to do - right from before I left NZ. The opinions and ideas that lead to this mess are still central in so many of our problems today.. Everyone knows we shouldn't forget history - but we should also remember to do our best to understand it.

I have an awful memory for dates and events, but I'll never forget a carpet made out of human hair.. hair that was sent to the factory still tied in plats, clips,
Outside the infamous main gateOutside the infamous main gateOutside the infamous main gate

The sign above the gate roughly translates to "Work makes you free". Blackly ironic, it makes a dramatic entrance.. a great photo opportunity today...
however it was stripped from the person.

Even in the freezing cold of (a very warm) winter it felt completely unreal standing there.
Still, I'm glad I went, everyone should.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Railyard, Auschwitz IIRailyard, Auschwitz II
Railyard, Auschwitz II

.. However most souls didn't even get the ungracious dignity of the previous welcome. This is where they were unloaded and immediately exterminated.
Barbed wireBarbed wire
Barbed wire

The cheapest cage available
The main "street" in AuschwitzThe main "street" in Auschwitz
The main "street" in Auschwitz

This camp was generally reserved for political prisoners and those set for medical experiments. "long timers", a stay might last as long as 3 months.


Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0264s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb