Lots of Ice


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway
June 19th 2006
Published: June 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Anchored at Hellesylt Took one of the tenders into the pier. Let's just say I hope we don't have to abandon ship in that thing. One engine out, and it would get swamped by the wake of a bass boat.

Took a bus tour up to the Briksdalen Glacier today. Incredible scenery. The hike up to the glacier was a bit more than I had expected. Three weeks of big meals and not much exercise has really slowed me down. Almost everyone that makes it up there goes up to touch the blue ice. Personally, it looked like the side of a mountain road. Nothing but dirty ice. Monkey stayed on the ship. Won't make that mistake again. No photo-ops without him.

Also went to the top of a mountain the name of which I'll fill in later. I'll have to check imdb.com, but I'm sure it was used as backgound for 'The Empire Strikes Back'. On the drive up there, had my first official Norwiegan wildlife sighting. A large herd of reindeer in a valley a couple of hundred feet below the road. One down, two to go.

Haven't seen much of the "Midnight Sun" yet. It's been cloudy and rainy most days. It does stay light 24 hours a day, just haven't seen the sun that causes it yet. Lots of great pictures. As soon as I get them out of the camera, and I can work out the WI-FI issues, I'll try to send some.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.349s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0667s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb