Norway


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Western Norway » Jostedal
June 9th 2006
Published: March 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

JostedalbreenJostedalbreenJostedalbreen

Still alongside the Jostedalbreen Glacier
We head north, zigzagging our way through the fjords. The Norwegians are master tunnelers. I've never encountered so many tunnels before. This includes Europe's longest tunnel at over 20 kilometers in length. I avoided this one though as the thought of spending 15 minutes droning along in the darkness wasn't very appealing. I did encounter a few that were 8 or 9 kilometers in length. I loathed the idea of breaking down in the middle of one these tunnels. At a gas stop, I met an Italian rider who had a flat in the middle of one of these tunnels. He said he waited for 3 hours inside the tunnel before a tow truck could get to him.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb