Life In The Arctic Circle


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Northern Norway » Tromsø
June 26th 2006
Published: June 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

TrollfjordTrollfjordTrollfjord

At only 100m wide at its narrowest point, its a tight squeeze!
I've made it to the Arctic Circle! Had an amazing journey to get here, after spending the day in Trondheim... .

When I arrived in Trondheim I noticed lots of flags up and barricades set up alongside the road - "they heard I'm coming to town, this is very kind!", I thought, thinking what a welcome that was! But of course the King and Queen had also decided to turn up at the same time. Anyway, as I wandered around town today, I stumbled on the ceremony in the cathedral, commemorating 100 years since the last coronation there. Anyway, turns out I had a front row view of the royals emerging from the cathedral along the red carpet - and guess who they waved at?! (as well as the thousand or so people stood behind me!). I then ambled along, following the procession and lo and behold, I'm stood amongst the guests watching a brass band play in the after-ceremony party. I did stick out rather, in my t-shirt and beard of a week's growth, amongst the dignitaries, politicians, ladies in national costume and armed forces! Anyway, I had a nice chat with 2 old ladies about their national dress.
Sailing Through The Lofoten IslandsSailing Through The Lofoten IslandsSailing Through The Lofoten Islands

Some Of The Islands the Hurtigruten Ferry Sails Past
Got along a storm but I didn't manage to procur any cake though, although not for want of trying.

I spent the rest of the day wandering around Trondheim and the next day caught the early train to Bodø - the end of the trian line and into the Arctic Circle. The scenery was spectacular - so much so that you find yourself becoming almost blase about it after a while - through forests as far as the eye can see, along raging rivers and over thundering waterfalls. Occasionally you'd pass a few houses dotted on the hillside, the bright red buildings breaking up the monotony of the grey rock and sky. These places looked so remote that you wonder what life is like during the winter, how isolated they must be... . The journey took me via Oslo where I changed trains, half way though the 13 hour journey and north again and finally into the Arctic Circle!

Bodo was very much a frontier town, built on the fishing industry and the Arctic winds were a constant reminder that I was the furthest north I have ever been. In the distance the snowy mountains and Lofoten Islands
The Prince and Princess of NorwayThe Prince and Princess of NorwayThe Prince and Princess of Norway

Hi, yes, I am on holiday here too!
provided the backdrop. I boarded the Hurtigruten ferry the next day for a trip through the islands (pics attached). The ferry itself was great although most of the other passengers were in groups and were about twice my age, so I got asked a few questions by bemused onlookers when they all made their way to their cabins and I got out my sheet sleeping bag and settled down on a sofa in the bar for the night! Anyway, they would miss the midnight sun as we sailed on through the night. I had the best view! I did enjoy the ferry itself, although I missed chatting to other backpackers so 24 hours was enough for me (you can spend 2 weeks on it).

Now I am in Tromso where I am spending a couple of days before a haul up to Alta and then on to Kirkenes, before catching the bus to Murmansk, north Russia. I have met loads of great people in here and no doubt wil do the same in Russia. People on all kinds of journeys, one bloke cycling around Scandinavia for 4 months with all the possessions he owned in the world, in a
The Arctic CircleThe Arctic CircleThe Arctic Circle

The Point Marking The Polar Line (N66.33 for those GPS anoraks amongst you)
trailer pulled by his bike, to people spending just a weekend in Bergen. I have managed to watch the England games, the Sweden game a couple of us watched in a warehouse type bar, full of what we thought were mostly English fans, until they all stood up and cheered when Sweden scored. I have had a real laugh along the way and enjoyed some spectacular views. I would definitely recommend coming to Norway but probably best to speak to the bank manager beforehand though!

I am not sure when the next update will be as I will likely be offline until Russia, but will pick up any messages when I get there. It has been great having updates from home so keep the coming, please. Mother Russia or the Great Bear or whatever you want to call her, awaits! Adios and keep in touch!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Trondheim cathedralTrondheim cathedral
Trondheim cathedral

Could not get in here As The Royals got there first. It is meant to be well worth a visit though!
Frozen Lake On Way To Arctic CircleFrozen Lake On Way To Arctic Circle
Frozen Lake On Way To Arctic Circle

Taken through a train window, but you get the idea. i.e. it is cold!


29th June 2006

Wow
What amazing scenery. Glad you are having such a good time. Would have liked to have seen the beard (memories of Raffles Hotel)! Love Mum
10th July 2006

Andy
Looks fantastic... from a slighty warmer climate here in Blightey!. Great to read the updates, makes me want to dust off my back pack and do it all again!!

Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 31; qc: 117; dbt: 0.1365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb