Northern Lights from the ship in Norway after leaving Tromso


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Northern Norway » Tromsø
December 9th 2017
Published: December 13th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Seeing the Northern Lights



After returning to the ship after our time in Tromso we were preparing for dinner. There was an announcement over the loud speaker that there was the siting of the northern lights. It was however, our dinner time. I ignored the dinner time and armed myself with Kerrie’s DSLR camera and tripod as well as all my snow clothes. I rusher to one side of the ship then to the front. The wind was vicious. I then decided to go to the other side. Fortunately, that was the right choice. I looked ahead of the ship, and out of the wind I set up the tripod. The white, bright swirling lights were brilliant. The camera was ready. I tried the camera on ISO 800 and 20 second shuter speed. The vision was fantastic. It was so green and yet to the naked eye, it was white. I tried exposure time at 25 seconds and that was even better. Every time the photo had finished being taken I just kept clicking the remote cable. I was so excited --- and no one I knew was with me. They had gone to dinner. I just kept clicking.



Eventually, after about 20 minutes, the lights started to fade so I dropped the camera back to our cabin. I almost ran to the restaurant to tell Tom & Sheryl. I am so happy with the photos. Hope you enjoy them.


Additional photos below
Photos: 56, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb