waking up to snow and sunshine...


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Northern Norway » Bodø
October 3rd 2009
Published: October 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Sunny Lake 85 secs
It's snowing! Okay well, it was snowing last night at approximately 3a.m. when I was walking home from the student pub, Samfunnet, after a very fun and interesting night with some old friends and some new.

It's been a LONG, quiet week here in Bodø. And it all started after coming back from an exciting trip, but the weather had taken quite a turn for the worse. All week has been hail, snow/slush, rain, and even a short thunder and lightning storm (which I had no idea that it did here so it scared the hell out of me) so I've been slowly catching up on my homework, researching grad schools, and studying for the Graduate Record Exam (GRE). I ended up dropping one of my classes but can now spend more time trying to figure out where I'm going to go to graduate school.

Thursday night, I had dinner with Libby, Destinee, and two Russians over at Libby's apartment and we just sat around talking. And eventually, the Russians pulled out their guitar and sang us some songs. Apparently at their school, sitting around and playing songs is a common day thing and they were a little sad to see that most Norwegians don't play the guitar. It was a fun night nonetheless!

Friday started off kind of dreary as Libby, Brad, and I walked the 20-25minute walk to the science building in the rain. Luckily, the sun came out for a bit and the walk back to campus wasn't so bad! Then I spent about 3-4 hours in the library working on a grant application, listening to Grey's Anatomy, and just trying to get caught up. And by late Friday, I didn't really feel social but with some inspiration, the Russians convinced me to go down to Samfunnet. And while they were getting ready, I went next door and watched Libby, Brad, and a bunch of their friends play an interesting card game and sip on Brad's homemade wine. Then the Russians and I departed and started our evening at Samfunnet. It was a lot of fun and I always enjoy going there just to be around a lot of people and listen to good music. It was a really nice night full of some new firsts and the time passed by quicker than we thought. Around 3a.m., the place closed so the Russians and I walked back to Hoglimyra as the snow started to fall. And after Anna and I pelted Anya with some snow, it was off to bed for me 😊.

I awoke this morning around 9:30 in need of some water and when I looked out my kitchen window, it was absolutely gorgeous with the snow coating the ground and the sun starting to peak over the mountains. What a great way to start your morning - waking up to snow and sunshine. Later today, D and I went for a walk, similar to the one we had taken when we first got here and just enjoyed being outside without being wet for once in a few weeks. It was a nice afternoon as I just looked out over the water. I've been a little homesick but am starting to acclimate and enjoy my time here. It was even sunny today. Hope we have sun tomorrow too! 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.175s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 14; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0674s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb