Finally!


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Lillehammer
March 28th 2008
Published: March 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello all!
I know, I know it has been FOREVER since I have written. I kinda forgot about this travel blog.

Well I have survived spring break! My first destination was Copenhagen. There were five of us who met up in Copenhagen. I was being cheap so my flight was an hour before everyone else's. So I left at I think 3:20 am by the taxi and then got on the train to Oslo. It was kinda nice to travel alone and take a breather before I began the week. After I got to the airport I cut it super close checking in. I think I was one of the last people to check in for the flight and then after I went to security I got to the gate right as they started boarding!! Yeah, so note to self: leave more that an hour for checking in and such... well I didn't think that a lot of people would be at the airport at 4 in the morning! But I made it none the least. Then I waited around in the Copenhagen airport for about 2 hours as I waited to meet up with the others. I think the funniest sight was right after the arrival gate- there was a Starbucks!! Yeah, and of course I couldn't resist and got something!

After the otehrs arrived we took the train to downtown Copenhagen. And the we walked around in the rain looking for our hotel for at least and hour! We talked to about 5 people but they didn't know anything! We went to the police to ask for directions to find out that we were going th wrong direction! Well we eventually made it to the hotel. Josh and I had to wait outside while the others checked in. (Josh and I snuck in the whole weekend! We didn't exist). After they checked in we went to a cafe that a girl had reccommeded to eat and warm up.

This was the 13th of March which was also Josh's 21st birthday!! So we made sure he had a fun day. We mostly walked around because the rain had stopped after we finished eating. After the long day we returned to the hotel. We were all tired. A few of us took a nap... the we went out for Josh's Birthday and made it memorable!

The next day we decided to look to the Copenhagen Castle. We were told that there is not a lot in Copenhagen to see. One could see all of Copenhagen in 3 hours!! Well we had a really fun day! We spent the whole day walking around no knowing where we were going. We bought ice cream even though it was kinda cold outside, but not raining! It was nice to just relax and do what we wanted to do! We made it to the place we thought was the castle... but well it really wasn't. It was a fortress. No one was there! So after the whole day we never found it! But oh well we went to look at the famous mermaid statue. We got one of the things we wanted to see!

The last day we just walked around again. We went to Christiania. This place is what they call hippee land. They don't follow as many of the rules as they should. Seriously it is like walking into a photo from the 70's! They had the barrels burning with flames and a market where you could buy bongs for pot. It was kinda funny. Afterwards we went to the wonderful bakery! The food was AMAZING!! We finished the day going to a beer garden where we tasted different kinda of beer. So that was a brief overview of Copenhagen.

Ireland... yes! This was the basis of our whole trip. We based our spring break on St. Patrick's Day!! We made it to Dublin and then took the bus to the bus station and then a bus across Ireland to Galway! It was a very pretty train ride. We were a little tired from the traveling but it was good. It ended up being a 4 hour train ride!! 😞 Then skip to St. Patrick's Day. It was A LOT of fun. A few people started drinking at 10 am. We then went to the parade downtown. It was a gorgeous day outside. The sun peaked out a few times! The parade was a lot of fun to see all of the different floats. After the parade we found a bar to go and eat but it was really but it was really busy! We didn't sit down for probally an hour almost two hours! After we sat down we found out that the resteraunt stopped serving food an hour before we sat! 😞 So we then went to look for another place to eat. We ended up eating at a pizza place... The rest of the night we went to a club. I went to bed early becuause I got tired but others wet to a dance club.

The last bit of my trip was having an 8-hour lay-over in the Copenhagen airport. As long as it was it went pretty fast. I had a chance to think about the trip and such. It did get a little long but it was fun.

Overall it was a wonderful trip. I was glad to be back in Lillehammer. I went to one of the gu's birthday party and had a really good time!!

So that's an update of my spring break anyways!
Take Care,
Siri

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb