My First Bobsleigh Experience


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Lillehammer
January 30th 2006
Published: February 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This is me on a bobsleigh in Lillehammer in Norway (a before, not after, picture). I paid far too much to have a go on it. I'm glad I did though. The way it worked there was a driver, then me and then the brakeman at the back. They were both nice guys but very serious, ex military I imagine. The run wasn’t that long, compared to a ski run or anything, but long enough to make me feel nervous before lift off. In fairness it doesn't take much, the pussy that I am. But once we were on the move it was fantastic; a healthy combination of terrifying and amazing. Then it all started to go wrong... Halfway down, the driver asked me to budge back a bit because I was squashing him. Unfortunately I budged a bit too far back and knocked the brakeman clean off. In that second, it became less amazing and more just terrifying. I also was crippled with shame by the knowledge that I had managed to dislodge a fully-grown man from a moving vehicle with my fat ass. I didn’t bring that up though. I just stayed very quiet and very still, imagining myself in some far away land with horses and dolphins. The driver had to half work both jobs and half instruct me what to do. I don’t remember exactly how it happened but we made it down in one piece through sheer luck. Once we got to the bottom in tact and learned that the brakeman was uninjured, I suddenly thought the whole ordeal was the most hilarious thing that had ever happened and couldn't speak for laughing. The driver did not share my sentiments at all so I left before he gave me a punch in the mouth.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb