Amazing Roadtrip


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Andebu
June 15th 2017
Published: August 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Tesla blog

Driving from Norway to Eastern Europe

I am writing this as My 4000-km road trip across eastern Europe starts in Oslo on a
fairly cold day in April. This would be my first trip with Misael, the make I
gave to my newly bought (second hand) P85+.

You might think it’s weird to give my car a name, but Tesla actually requires you to do
so in the software user interface. So I don’t want to hear no mocking in the
comments section please :=)

Riding Solo

I will be doing this road trip solo, as my girlfriend is busy writing her Masters thesis
in 3D art. She was very sad to not be able to join, but she made me a little
trinket to remind me of her along the journey.



On a side note, she also has her own blog, where she talks about 3D art like the
butterfly she made for me. She also talks about 3D pens and Printers and if you
guys want to see what she has made then go to penandplastic.com. Here she talks about 3D pens and plastic, 3d creations and ideas. if you are
interested.

I digress!
Back to the trip

Oslo

The trip
will start off with me driving to Larvik, which is a port around 100 km south
of Oslo, and head to the port of Hirthrals in Demark. The two ports are
connected via Ferry and the trip takes around 3h 30 min to complete.

Tickets for this ferry is available at Colorline.no for around 70 Euros. This includes a
standard family car…yes a Tesla Model S barely qualifies as a standard family
saloon, as it is just under 5m long. Kuddos to Tesla for making this cutoff
design parameter.

Thereafter
I was going to use the supercharging network to drive through Demark and stop
at Hamburg, where I will be renting an AirBnB apartment.



Hamburg

Big plans for Hamburg are:

Checking out the Portugese district

Visiting
the Harbour

Taking a walk in the evening along the Reaperbahn! (looking forward to sharing my
experiences about the infamous red light district of Hamburg)

Berlin

After spending the day in Hamburg I will stop heading South and continue my journey
east towards Berlin, where I plan to spend 2 days enjoying the sites in this
amazing city.

Berlin
sites to see:

TV Tower
(costs around 15 Euros), but there is a 1-2 hours waiting list, depending on
what day and time you decide to go

Fredericks
Platz (including the Reichstad Museum and many other interesting buildings)

DDR Museum

Prague

After that we move on to Prague, the Paris of the East. This drive is a bit tricky as
there is no supercharging station in Prague, so I will have to use the
destination charging at the Hoffmeister Hotel. You can prebook a parking there,
and parking with charging at 22 kW/h costs 3 Euros an hour.

I plan to spend 3 days in Prague, and will meet up with some friends there.

Prague
sites to see:

St. Charles
Bridge

Prague
Cathedral

Pilzen Beer
factory (this is a bit out of the way, so will see if I have time to take a
detour to Pilzen)

Budapest

The longest
part of the journey without charging will be the section from Humpolec in Czech
to Budapest. It is possible to take a short detour to Vienna or go through
Bratislava in Slovakia, but I think it should be possible for the Model S 85 to
make it. The distance is around 330 km, and the range in Spring should be 360
km. At this point of the trip I think I would have had enough experience with long
distance driving to see if Miseal has the legs to carry me through this section
of the journey.

Plans for Budapest:

One of my best friends stays here and he will show me around… he did mention something
about enjoying the bath-houses with Hungarian beauties, and taking a boat ride
on Danube so…

Time to start driving



































































































Well, for
now I wish you adieu, the time has come for me to start this epic solo roadtrip
with my Tesla along eastern Europe. Wish
me luck!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.036s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb