Leiden, Den Haag, Rotterdam, Delft, Zeeland and more...


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » Zealand » Vlissingen
July 6th 2007
Published: July 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Part 4 of 4 in the Netherlands. I've been in this country for 6 weeks and was only in southeast Asia for 5- geographically that makes very little sense.

I'm still on the bike, I rode from Utrecht to Den Haag. During my 5 hour ordeal it poured with rain about 10 times. I took shelter in all sorts of places from people's front porches, company workshops and shops to under trees, but I got there eventually . I took a little detour through the city of Leiden where I had a bit of a look around and recall purchasing some strawberries- a major highlight. I then got to Den Haag (also known as The Hague)- where I stayed for two nights. In Den Haag I tried my luck with 'couchsurfing'- don't know if people have heard of this but you simply register on their site by filling in your profile and then searching for potential hosts. It all went pretty well and I've met some really interesting people in the process. It's a bit of a random situation but it seems to work OK. Den Haag is the Netherlands' seat of government and also contains the International Criminal Court (of course not recognised by the US). I had a wee peak into the Dutch Lower House as I wanted to see what was going on. Unfortunately the chamber was only 40% full and the topic of the morning was transport. After that I had a look around at Scheveningen (west of Den Haag on the sea side) and the city of Delft- to the east (the historical alternative to Den Haag and Rotterdam).

The next day I rode to Hoek van Holland (hoek meaning corner), had a look around and enjoyed the incredible wind gusts before heading to the Netherlands' #2 city, and major port and industrial centre of Rotterdam. Despite it being bombed flat in WW2 (the only real onslaught that the Dutch received during the war), it's a pretty interesting city. The modern architecture along with its harbour area is pretty impressive. My couchsurfing in Rotterdam was also pretty good. I met the hosts only for about an hour and then they went off for the night and said "just help yourself to all the food and alcohol and have a party if you want'- well that was an alright offer, so myself and the two other couchsurfers got stuck in. However the next day was bit of a marathon bike journey from Rotterdam to the southwest corner of the Netherlands. 110ks with a hangover, coupled with strong headwind all the way wasn't the best. Getting out of Rotterdam was a bit of a mission and then I had to follow its industrial area for about 20ks- it's impressive but as you could imagine soon wears off; Zeeland was great though, it's basically half sea half land- connected by dikes/ or dams (which I had to ride over every now and then) is an enough impressive province and its cities of Middelberg and Vlissingen were well worth the visit. So that was that; Netherlands no more.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



11th July 2007

the dutch
the dutch are just slightly crazy...i knew it all along...good on them though. gotta love the beauty of den haag and delft. rotterdam didnt convince me though, kees...oh and what do you like more? oud zeeland or nieuw zeeland?;) now you seem to be off to the no-country belgium...enjoy:D
12th July 2007

Well if it isn't Kees Keizer...
I heard about your travels from Wim Harwig, a guy you couchsurfed with recently. Never thought that I'd hear about an old school mate... Good on you for getting on a bike and doing it. Are you heading through Germany any time soon? I am near Karlshue in Germany, heading towards the Netherlands on my skateboard along the Rhine River. It'd be freaking random to meet up. Anyways, take care and good luck for dodging the rain storms. Tailwinds all the way, Rob URL: www.14degrees.org/en Email: rob.thomson@14degrees.org
12th July 2007

New Zealander in Zeeland
Good to see a New Zealander in Zeeland, where are you going next ???
12th July 2007

NEXT STOP
Chris, sort your geography out please. It's pretty obvious that Armenia is my next stop.
13th July 2007

emuwheels
Yeah, I'm coming over August 4, amsterdam-sneek-groningen-westerstede-bremen-hamburg-kiel-goteborg-lyrestad-motala-stockholm-tallinn, overa bout 13 days, something like that anyway, probably set me up one of these blogs too so we can compare riding injuries in fornt o fthe whole world. haven't been able to get hold of the joker I know in Amsterdam, don't suppose you ever got manon's details? Been trying to get in some cycling round here but weather's been shit.
15th July 2007

Outdated
Your blog is outdated. Just yesterday we were having belgium beer in Brussels bars and you were taking advantage of not getting a bad reaction when you say to girls you re from invircago. Seek that we meet randomly in brussels. Take good care my friend and have a great trip. See you back in october to check out EU hood and more brussels nigh out. Cheers. Diogo
17th July 2007

emu cycling raining
crying about a bit of rain mate?

Tot: 0.474s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 72; dbt: 0.1578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb