Day 7 - The Hague


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » South Holland » The Hague
June 3rd 2015
Published: June 3rd 2015
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in The Hague late last night and met up with my roommates aunt, who is the court reporter for the final trial being held at the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY). Last night was also the first full night sleep I got since I began travelling so it was well needed. The next morning I went to the ICTY to witness part of this final trial, the man on trial is Ratko Mladic, nicknamed the "Butcher of Bosnia," who was Chief of Staff of the Army of Republika Srpska and is accused of being responsible for the Siege of Sarajevo, the largest massacre in Europe post-WWII. The tribunal was really interesting as at the time i was there the main defence lawyer was questioning a witness, but this lawyer had quite the personality as he was arguing with the judge and defence layer about things he was obviously wrong about and contrary to common sense. However, his personality did match Mladic's, who just sat there with the worst look on his face, picking his nose and looking like the biggest a**. After watching court for a few hours, I went to see if I could find the International Criminal Court. Around the ICTY I saw the building for many international organizations like Interpol, but it took me about an hour and a half to find the place and since there were no trials taking place that day I was unable to enter the building. Outside the ICC, I did watch a large protest against ISIS, asking the ICC to declare a genocide in the region and to respond with the appropriate interventions and investigations into what ISIS was doing. I then went to go pick up my stuff from my roommates aunt's house but I got lost for an hour and half and ended up just exploring the town, which was really cute and unexpectedly had a real "small town" feel. From there I got on a train from The Hague to Lueneburg

Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0301s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb