11. Ik ca niet holland spratten


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » South Holland » The Hague
August 8th 2006
Published: August 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The idiotic smile remains on my face even as I board the ferry to Holland. There will be no tears shed on Englands behalf, not that it is that bad, but I've just had enough for now. However will the Netherlands really be any better ?, or will it be the cestpool of moral decay that it is often portrayed as.
For a boat of its size the ferry moves incredibly quick and I'm actually dissapointed that it only takes about 3hrs. The ferry is more comfortable than any place I've been in the last week. During the trip I cross reference my map of Holland and my contact list and decide that my first stop will be in Den Haag to visit my aunts friends. It seems like everybody on the list is a doctor or some important person, in a business sense at least. I leave the dock and step on dutch soil at around 1 am and decide that I can't make it to the Hague tonight and will have to sleep outside one last time. No care whatsoever is taken as I slip into my sleeping bag in some bushes a few miles down the road. Within a few minutes I think I hear the absolute worst sound in the world, the buzzing of a mosquito. There were none in England, but now I'm not as fortunate.
Waking during a slight rain at around 7am I waste no time in starting my days travel. The pangs of hunger are almost unbearable and it takes hours of walking before any stores are open. If only I had a bike I would be happy, these are some of the best bike trails in the world. No hills, no cars and idiot proof signs pointing from one town to another. It is actually quite a walk before reaching den Haag, once there I stop inside a real restaurant and order the cheapest thing just to get out of the rain. I was hoping that being Canadian would get me some respect but the owners seem pissed off that I'm even in their restaurant. Perhaps they think I'm American because the only flag on my bookbag is barely bigger than a stamp.
Memorizing directions off a street map I hobble through the streets making my way towards Brugsestraat. It is easy enough to find and I only have to push one Italian guy's car out of the ditch along the way. The house is impressive enough , its 3 stories not counting the basement. I have visions of myself laying in a bed with all my clothes cleaned while watching English TV. I hear that Eek the Cat is popular here, I haven't seen that in years. To my dismay they are not at home and I don't get the rest I have longed for. I decide to head to the coast and do some shopping. My very limited Dutch has been put into use many times already "Ik ca niet Holland Spratten". As well as the ever popular "Engel Spratten?" all the whilst I shake my hand back and forth. Most Dutch people just find it amusing, even though my accent is fairly close. The mall by the beach is interesting enough and I email my family who still think that I was about to come home from London. I soon learn that root beer probably isn't popular here when the Harveys employee nearly screams at me that they don't serve beer. Holland is interesting enough and definetely more lighthearted than England. I take the 7 lane road back (only 2 of which are for cars, 1 horse) back to see if my would be friends have returned. Eventually I come to the forlorn conclusion that they are gone on vacation and that waiting is pointless. Thinking that this is all some divine plan to cause me suffering I feel like giving up. I try to bribe myself by promising myself a new electric guitar if I don't take an early flight home. The bribe seems to appease that part of me and I sleep in the woods near the horse path. Ok so Im not having fun yet but tomorrow I'll try another person on the list and we shall see.

Advertisement



10th August 2006

"I soon learn that root beer probably isn't popular here when the Harveys employee nearly screams at me that they don't serve beer." That bit made me laugh a great deal ^_^ happy travels.

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb