Getting a visa


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » South Holland » The Hague
July 6th 2009
Published: July 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Start of the trip: Kowloon, Hong Kong.

Today, I went to the embassy of the People's Republic of China.
I was told to be early, so I was. I arrived 35 minutes before it opened, but I was number 8 in line.
Of course, getting a visa is not really exiting, although I thought at first...

The province of Heilongjiang (the place I will be studying) has stamped my visa application, which ensures me a visa. However, the visa the lady wanted to give me was a 3 months visa. However, because of the traveling, I will need to have a 4 months visa.
Because 'a combined visa for studying and traveling doesn't exist', she could not give me a 4 months visa...

From someone else who is going to do the same (travel and study), I heard that he did get a 4 months visa, so I persisted that she should also give such a visa. After a while she asked a colleague and it turned out not to be a problem after all, but she was really mad at me. Too bad for her, but if I would not have persisted, I probably wouldn't have gotten the visa I wanted!

So I was really relieved when I left the embassy with the right document.

The only problem I have now, is that there are floodings in the center and middle of China, exactly there where I want to go! Because the information from China is not that helpful, I am really glad that Pan (a future classmate) informed me about it! There are also a few roads destroyed, so it's still exciting whether I can follow my travel plan!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0543s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb